Logo orange

Sabrina's Groups

Sabrina Mistry

London, London, England

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sabrina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Finance analyst (not quite an accoun...
  • University of Nottingham :) Studied ...
  • From Leicester
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Share life, love and experiences with as many people in as many places as the world has to offer.

ABOUT ME

I have just recently moved to London for a new job (although the job is actually in Surrey, unfortunately not near Privet Drive - love Harry Potter). I like films old and new, gigs and shows, pints and the likes as long as I get to meet new people. I love to cook to, especially vegetarian versions of asian food. Looking for someone/somewhere to learn Spanish properly as the interim dream (before coming back to England and owning a tea shop) is to move to South America, Ecuador, Argentina or Bolivia would be fab. I also NEED to go to Antarctica and see the penguins, I have a savings account just for that, 2016 is the plan.

PHILOSOPHY

Labda Kesho.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Last year I didn't get to much (was bogged down with final year blues) but would love to meet some new people in London from different places.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Many a person has taken me in on my travels. Most notable Manole - who, drove us to Madrid and on finding that we had got but a few service stations down the next day, came back picked us up, let us sleep in his truck and took us to Almeria - what a beautiful Romanian man. We spoke no Spanish, he only a few words of English. Only a wee bit of Italian as common ground and yet we learnt so much from each other and he made us laugh all the way. Best 'sleep over' ever. Then, secondly, Jean Pierre, who saved us from pitching our tents in the Parisian suburbs and let us sleep in his nice French farmhouse.

Interests

The World and seeing as much of it as possible, baking the perfect cookie, Harry Potter, Dostoyevsky, Wild Beasts, Bon Iver, Daughter, The XX, sitting in armchairs, raiding charity shops for articles that'll make my life more interesting, being a vegetarian, learning new languages, going on wood walks, cooking, making new friends and hanging with old ones, watching old channel 4 and BBC documentaries, Green Wing and making it to 'Up n Down Under' for £1 tequila shots before a night out.

Music, Movies & Books

Hmmm.. reckon I covered that a bit in interests. Music-wise. Favourite composer - Einaudi, then Tiersen. If I had to choose a favourite band (which is a struggle) The XX. Love the sounds of Daughter and Bon Iver though. Four favourite books: Reading Lolita in Tehran, Angela's Ashes, A Thousand Splendid Suns and Crime and Punishment. I prefer TV series more than films: Green Wing, Californication, Flight of the Conchords, Gavin and Stacey, Peep Show, Campus, The Office, Extras, Karl Pilkington etc. But I do love a good film, The Full Monty, La Choriste and Zoolander. I'll give anything a chance.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Sleeping in the Bush in Kibaya with a members from the local Masai tribe, with all but a rug and a fire - most beautiful sunrise I've ever seen.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some English or maybe some rudimentary French. I can play one song on the piano and am somewhat excellent ability to drink tequila. I would love to learn more languages (even if it's 1-10) and learn to play the guitar. Plus I love cooking, so any tips or any recipes I can share I will - I make a mean Cambodian curry and half baked brownies.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Morocco, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Romania, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sabrina's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile