Logo orange

Mercedes Rivera

Athens, Georgia, United States

Wants to Meet Up

Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mercedes's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 72, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired -- I'm interested in the art...
  • I attended NYC public schools in the...
  • From New York City
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I am retired and just want to visit different towns and meet new people. Still looking for my perfect place to live. Currently planning to check out New Mexico and Panama.

ABOUT ME

I left NYC in the mid '70s and moved South. Had two great jobs with 2 major corporations and moved around the country. Now I'm retired and living in Athens, GA. I like it, but miss the ocean and the mountains. Since it's hard to find both, I am currently investigating New Mexico. Planning a trip there in the fall and would love to meet the "natives" for coffee, lunch and hopefully new friendships.

Since retirement I have taken some painting classes. I especially like watercolor -- it puts me in a meditative state. I am not yet good at it, but am enjoying the process.

I love to dance, enjoy ethnic foods, the theater and New Age thinking.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe in live and let live.

Why do I live my life? Well, the other choice is not very attractive. I'm here so I want to make the most of it. When I was in my early twenties I wanted to move around the US, living a year or two in a different town. Now I just want to find the perfect place for me. For a while I thought Sarasota, FL would be perfect, but with the passing of time (and not being able to sell my home) I've come to the conclusion that Florida may not be the best place for me.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am new to CouchSurfing, joined a few months ago but am just now checking into it. My chiropractor recommended it. He has been active for a while, I think.

Interests

The arts, decorating, dancing, exploring new towns, meeting new and interesting people.

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy all music, but especially smooth jazz, the oldies, even Tony Bennett.

I read mysteries, biographies. Recently read Sarah's Key, Tales of a Female Nomad (which is giving me the courage to travel solo), and am now starting The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo -- I saw the movie, thought it was excellent, and really wanted to read the book. (I know this is the backward way, but the movie was in town and I wanted to catch it before it left!)

Countries I've Visited

Cuba, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mercedes's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile