Catherine Hamel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 55% response rate
  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Catherine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Russian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • CSR at Uber
  • I've studied Russian history and pedagogy
  • From Saint-Georges, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Practice Russian more often. Meet new people. Have fun.

ABOUT ME
I'm very passionate about travelling and it's a shame I can't do it more often. So to counteract my lack of money, I love hosting on CS. This way, I can meet new people and bring them around my fantastic city. I live with my best friend in a 4 and a half and we love talking with new people, going out in pubs, trivia nights or just grabbing a drink. You won't be bored with us ! We have both studied history ; I specialized in Imperial Russia and Soviet Studies and she did museology. We also love movies, video games and comic books. I also do some photography in my spare time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As I said, I don't have enough money these days to go to all the places I'd like to visit. Instead, I love hosting on CS so I can learn about new cultures and the lives of people in other countries. I've hosted in the past and I loved it. When it's possible, I like going out with my Couchsurfers and visit Montreal with them. I was also hosted in Amsterdam and Moscow and I loved every minute of it, so I want to pay forward for these experiences.

We are both currently working full time, so it's hard for us to go out during the weekdays, but we are more free during the weekends.

Interests

I really appreciate any forms of art and culture. I'm passionate about history, photography, movies and books. I like learning new languages, because I think it's the mirror of a culture. My roommate and I love spending evenings playing video games or Jeopardy against each other. Otherwise, we love discovering new fun places in Montreal, either bars or places to hang out.

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • photography
  • dining
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • trivia
  • movies
  • video games
  • traveling
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I really listen/watch/read everything. When I moved out from my parents, I carried way too many boxes of movies and books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen "Le pont du Gard" in South France. It was really amazing.

I've also lived in St-Petersbourg for two months and I miss it more than I'd like to admit.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm teaching French as a foreign language right now and I love it. I'd say that I love talking about different cultures and meals and just generally like learning about the other person !

What I Can Share with Hosts

My knowledge of Montreal (food, activities, bars, museums), food and my culture!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, France, Honduras, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Catherine’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups