Ashley Summers

Ganderkesee, Niedersachsen, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Danish, French, German, Italian, Turkish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • English Teacher, Freelance writer/photographer
  • Student of life- each new experience teaches me more than...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Viaggiare é Vivere= To Travel is to Live


I'm open-minded and relaxed, curious and complex. I'm a good listener, have an active mind, and genuinely care about the state of the world. I try to treat others as I would like to be treated. I love a challenge, seek adventurous exploration, thrive on new experiences/knowledge, and consistently try to further my understanding of the world around me. I like to focus my attention on the good things and experience happiness in life: moment by moment. I try to remain in the present, let go of the past, and remain optimistic about the future.

Everything in life is a choice and we create our own realities. I'm an intuitive energy being; positive, perceptive, and compassionate. Remembering that we're simply human helps to keep a strong sense of empathy present in my mind-- creating true connections with others is one of the most beautiful things in life.

I'm especially interested in Global Citizenry, transnational humanism, quantum theory, philosophy, theorizing in general, science, humanities, anything creative or challenging, anything international including (but not limited to): foods, drinks, culture, politics, traditions, etc.

I try to be very deliberate in the way I live my life; mindful of coexistence of both people and the planet. I interpret my purpose on this planet as one of service. Service to my fellow human by inciting change and creating awareness about environment, food systems, and self. I am a social and environmental justice advocate. I'm as much an environmental activist as I am a nonviolent activist. I lobby on behalf of Mother Earth. That said, it's almost redundant to say that I don't believe in capitalism, consumerism, nor conventional social conditioning methods.

I believe that in order for there to be REAL change, people need to build consensus (establish mutual self-interest,) and effectively communicate. It's imperative for people to pop their own ignorance bubbles, become aware, heighten consciousness, and pursue a sustainable course of action for the benefit of the planetary ecology and for the future.

Because of an innate desire to be a conduit for change, I tend to see my place on the planet as one that is interconnected to both humans and nature. Sustainability and self-sufficiency are important models for the moment. After all, that's all we have.


Viaggiare é vivere = To travel is to live (in Italian) I just FINALLY got my tattoo with this philosophy. What is life without travel? Or adventure? Or learning? Or people with whom to share memories?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been hosting since January 2009 and plan on continuing the hosting! I try and tell others about just how wonderful CS is and how the people you meet will make you really think and further inspire the beauty of travel.

I'm also involved CS meet-ups- meetings make you aware of your community and attending meetings whilst traveling opens doors, creates memories, and connects you to the pulse of travelers you may have never known otherwise. Even when I have CS hosts, I like to meet other CSers along the way.

IT IS IMPERATIVE THAT YOU WRITE A PERSONAL MESSAGE TO ME!!! If you're not willing to take the extra effort and develop a rapport with me virtually, I'm not cool with inviting you into my home. Honesty and trust are the building blocks to a solid relationship. I love hosting surfers just as much as I love surfing, but the mutual respect and trust begin with a personal message. THANK YOU!!!


I've done a healthy mix of surfing and hosting, but a bit more surfing lately. I did some surfing during my six weeks in Europe- meeting some people who have already transitioned into friends! My European hosts were wonderful and I look forward to getting situated at some point so I can host more!

Have connected with Surfers on three continents, I look forward to surfing more whilst living in Europe. I especially want to start hosting again!


Traveling, writing, photography, learning new languages, environmental activism, creating awareness about the interconnectedness of the world, climatology, meteorology, astronomy, geology, quantum mechanics, synchronicity, music, movies, sports/outdoor activities, hiking, cycling, cultivating my own food, meeting new people, trying new things, learning-(both in school and out), living life and getting the most out of it.

Music, Movies, and Books

Top MOVIES include: The Year My Parents Went on Vacation, Diarios de Motocicleta (or The Motorcycle Diaries), Fight Club, Snatch, Green Street Hooligans, The Boondock Saints, The Edukators, Atonement, Lilja 4-Ever, and Office Space.

MUSIC: Muse, Andres Cepeda, Jorge Drexler, Royksopp, Gustavo Santaolalla, Reik, DJ Serg, Glitch Mob, Swisher, Kid Cudi, Lupe Fiasco, Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, Boris Brejcha, Hybrid, Uppermost, Anugama, and others-- anything but country and some rap/hip hop.

BOOKS: Brave New World, Childhood's End, Stranger in a Strange Land, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, Brave New World Revisited, Ender's Game, Catch-22, As I Lay Dying, Neruda's poems, Frost's poems, ANY Classic English or "American" literature (save for Wuthering Heights and Age of Innocence. Ugh.) Plus and travel, photography, geopolitical, historical/biographical nonfiction, natural science, and language books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveled to Colombia three times, and completed an "overview trip" of Europe (ten countries in six weeks).

I "woke up" in my early twenties and knew that living in the US was a joke. I didn't want to play my "part" in the capitalist scheme there and opted for an international life. Since early 2013, I've only been in the US for about seven or eight months.

Getting to know people and places on an international level have made me a more understanding, compassionate, and humble being. I am inexplicably grateful for the opportunities I've experienced. I can honestly say, I am looking forward to creating more exciting things!

Teach, Learn, Share

Graduated from a conventional university with a degree in Liberal Studies, and just graduated with a MFA in Creative Writing. I'm studying Spanish, German, French, Danish, Turkish, Italian, and Russian on my own and through my travels. I like to get out in the world and make that my classroom. I am now a Language Services Specialist between Bremen and Oldenburg, Germany.

I will be starting intensive German soon and shortly thereafter, another masters in geography with a focus on the human-earth (environmental) relationship.

visited 36 states (72%)Create your own visited map of The United States or Brazil travel guide for Android

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a huge fan of cooking for my hosts! I tend to create with what is available and/or local and in season. I'm clean and respectful of the home space, can keep to myself if the host is busy, but [naturally] would love to spend at least one outing with my host seeing something that most "tourists" don't get to see.

I also enjoy practicing languages, sharing stories, and creating lasting friendships. This is a great way to see the world on the cheap, but more than that, it's about really connecting with your fellow human being... and taking that friendship beyond the physical time with them. Some of my most dear friends are people that I don't see very often, but we met through CS and I am so happy to have them as a part of my existence.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Guatemala, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups