Adnan Aksel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Adnan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning French, Greek (modern)
  • 65, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Retired UN Staff Member / Computer & Electronics Engi...
  • M. Sc.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

I was born in Yalova, Turkey in 1957. I completed my B. Sc. education in United Kingdom, and the M. Sc. graduate studies in Turkey. I worked in Turkey from 1980 to 1986 on various university, goverment and private company positions. Theafter I worked in Greece, USA, Canada, Holland, Thailand, Kosovo, Afghanistan, and Ghana with the United Nations.

I retired in 2012 and since then have been living in Yalova with my wife Angie. Angie is a child psychologist from Athens. I teach Diplomatic Correspondence at the Yalova University as an external instructor and also run a cat-sitting business in parallel. Angie teaches English at one of the local private colleges. We have a twin villa in Kadikoy, Yalova with a big garden full of fruit trees and flowers. We both love travelling and meeting new faces.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people and cultures during our travels and also when they stay with us.

Interests

  • cats
  • gardening
  • travel
  • reading (mainly the history books)

Music, Movies, and Books

- Classical guitar (mainly from the Latin composers);
- Historical and documentary films;
- Books (mainly on history but also almost anything).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Which one should I share?

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach Diplomatic Correspondence at the Yalova University.
I know quite a bit on cats.
I played classical guitar for almost 15 years.
I follow adult-education courses and learn new things every year; examples are: Gardening, accounting / book-keeping, clay pottery, real-estate business, bee-keeping, Ottoman Turkish, baglama saz musical instrument.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My UN and international experience of over 20 years.
My knowledge and experience on cats and other hobbies.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Afghanistan, Canada, Ghana, Greece, Kosovo, Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Adnan’s full profile.