Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 46 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Wanderer, adventure seeker, risk taker
  • International Development and Geography
  • From Guelph, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I try to live according to the simple philosophy that you create the life you want. I'm driven by high energy and passion. I think travel is just about the best thing in life. I always try to live each day to the fullest, and to walk away with no regrets. After all, there's no day like today :)

I've spent the majority of the past six years travelling throughout Asia, Australia, West and East Africa, Europe, and Central America, along with some time spent living on the west coast of Canada. Most recently, I've lived for six months between Ghana and Kenya, travelled for another 4 months by foot, bike and sailboat around Europe and the Mediterranean, and wrapped up this last batch of wanders by sailing across the Atlantic.

Next up - who knows! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm very interested in alternative forms of travel and learning, collaboration and communities of like-minded individuals. Couchsurfing is such a great way to meet new people and get to see a part of the world from a local's perspective. I've surfed at people's homes on 5 different continents, have met up with local CSers for drinks/hikes/hitchhiking adventures/etc, and have hosted a few people during my time living in Canada as well.

Interests

Laughing uncontrollably, random adventures, globe trotting, hammocks in the sun, photography, orange sherbert ice cream, starry night skies, postcards from afar, bonfires and guitars, all day breakfast diners, spending as much time in nature as possible, snowboarding in fresh powder, road trips with friends, swimming in the rain, setting suns, long bike rides, hiking in the mountains, and going barefoot.

  • photography
  • breakfast
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • road trips
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Vance Joy, Xavier Rudd, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, The Head and the Heart, The Lumineers, Bon Iver, Sigur Ros, Dan Mangan, Frightened Rabbit, The National, Tallest Man on Earth, Ingrid Michaelson

Movies: Amelie, Shawshank Redemption, Baraka, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 500 Days of Summer, The Life Aquatic, Human Planet

Books: Into the Wild, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Fall on your Knees, The Poisonwood Bible, Lord of the Rings

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going on a three-week solo camino throughout Portugal and Spain, followed by another 400 kilometres of hiking the coastline of Turkey during some of the hottest months of the year.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a friend from my recent travels has said - "I can teach from my experience, learn from yours, and share my time and a good smile." :)

"Because in the end, you won't remember the time you spent working in the office or mowing your lawn. So go climb that goddamn mountain." - Kerouac

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, France, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Ghana, Kenya, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups