Alexis Finch's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Spanish
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Illustrator, teacher, UXer, web developer
  • University of Chicago for Anthropology, Pen&Paper for...
  • From Ipswich, Massachusetts, USA
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

With my help, dinosaurs will again roam the earth, or at least the walls of cities worldwide. First up, South America.

ABOUT ME

I've travelled a lot for work, visiting places solo. I'm finally getting more chances to travel for fun and realizing that I still like rolling into a new city solo.

I love to discover cities by bicycle and always make sure to try out the local foods and whatever the local beverages are. It's been fun seeing the looks on folks faces when they see what I actually enjoy.

PHILOSOPHY

Meeting new people and talking to strangers are what make the world keep turning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm just getting started here, and have roommates for now. I'm excited to get to host, or just meet more folks. I can promise if I stay with you you'll get many fun postcards in the future!

When I lived in Chicago I hosted bands, bicyclists, speakers at conferences, and any number of friends between apartments or luck. Moving to SF and now to NYC has been odd. I suddenly can't host. I'm not sure even where I'll be living! It's great, but I wish I'd had more folks couchsurfing with me while I had the space!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've stayed with many many friends though not as a formal "couchsurfer." I'd say I'm best known for doing dishes and scrubbing stove tops. I love kitchens and really appreciate when folks cook for me, so doing my part, getting to help out and just listen to people go about their lives in the hub of the house is really rewarding.

Interests

Food, books, biology, bicycles, beverages, coffee, art and whiskey.

I do sketchnotes at GraphiteMind.com

  • arts
  • books
  • poetry
  • design
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • tv
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • world cup
  • biology

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
Thomas Pynchon - V.
Hugh Howey - Wool
Sheri S Tepper - The Fresco
Neal Stephenson - The Diamond Age
Carol Shields - The Stone Diaries
David Sedaris - Me Talk Pretty One Day

Music:
The Lumineers
Tapes 'N Tapes
Louis Prima
Victory At Sea
Murder By Death

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went to work in a foreign city as my second job out of high-school. I'd never been away from my parents for that long. Four months! I got to help out at a banquet at Versaille, met Pele while giving him an award on TV and got to wander the streets of Paris to my heart's content. It was hard work, but it was amazing to be part of the 1998 World Cup!

Teach, Learn, Share

- Web Design / UX
- Marketing
- Drawing
- Sketchnotes
- Public Speaking
- Poetry

Countries I’ve Visited

China

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis’s full profile. It’s free!