David Martens's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 62 References 51 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Greek (modern), Hebrew (modern), Portuguese, Slovak
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Freelance translator
  • Translation
  • From Liège, Walloon Region, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Who am I? That's a good question :D
Well, I'm a 31-years-old freelance translator, living in Brussels, even if I grew up in Liège, in the French speaking part of Belgium. Therefore, French is my mother tongue. I also speak fluently Spanish, Italian and English. I get by in Portuguese and I'm currently learning Greek and Hebrew. So if you can express yourself in one of those languages -well, I can't promise I will understand Hebrew as I'm just a beginner lol- I'd rather you did so...
As you already understood, languages are a very important part of my life!
Another important detail about me: I'm gay. So I prefer to be in contact with open-minded people. That sounds obvious :D
And last but not least: I love Europe! So if you want to talk about european travels, cultures and values, if you're Erasmus student, if you want to discover the capital city of EU and EU institutions or -if you're here at the good moment- if you want to discover the European spirit by partying with me and some friends from all over Europe, you knocked at the right door!!!
Well, if you're not interested in EU, there are other things to do in Brussels, don't worry, it's not a big deal :D
Hosting is a real pleasure, I swear, but I can't be a full-time-CS-host and I receive a lot of requests, so I already apologize for the requests I'll have to decline :(
Nevertheless, feel free to ask ;) and enjoy Brussels and Belgium!!!
Sorry to those I never answered to, I didn't use CS a lot recently, work is making me very busy :-(


Cinema, music, reading, meeting people, learning about different languages and cultures, travels...
As I'm a translator, I'm very very interested in some languages and cultures (all languages and cultures are interesting, but some of them interest me more than others)! So, every people who can help me to improve my level of Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and Catalan or to teach me some things about Greek, Maltese, Slovak, German or Hebrew languages and cultures are more than welcome :D
Nevertheless, of course, everyone is welcome!!!

  • culture
  • partying
  • movies
  • reading
  • socializing
  • music
  • freelancing
  • languages
  • study abroad
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies : The Green Mile, The Fifth Element, Diarios de motocicleta, all Almodovar movies, I cento passi, Amores perros, C.R.A.Z.Y., Avril, Brokeback Mountain and so many others. Italian/Spanish cinema.

Books : "Angeli da un'ala soltanto" (Galstaldi), Amélie Nothomb, Paulo Coelho, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, "La Tempête" (French title - Juan Manuel de Prada), "L'ami retrouvé" (French title - F. Uhlman) and... so many others! XD

Music : flamenco, salsa, jazz, opera... Michael Bublè, Mariza, Amparanoia, Juanes, Manu Chao, Amalia Rodrigues... And so many others! Mediterranean music (spanish, italian, greek, hebraic and arabic music)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Luxembourg, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups