Logo orange

Aino Järvi-Eskola

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aino's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning German, Spanish, Swedish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Undergraduate at the Faculty of Arts...
  • From Helsinki
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission is to pat a dog in every city I visit!

ABOUT ME

I'm a theatre research student from Helsinki.

I live in Hakaniemi, which is very close to Helsinki centre, less than 1 km from the Central Railway Station (5 minutes by metro or tram, 10 minutes by walking). Hakaniemi is part of the old working class district of Helsinki. It's by the sea, and surrounded with nice places like the Kallio district, some cool bars and cafes, nice parks and the sea. I live right next to the market hall and square, where you can do your organic and local food groceries.

Performing arts are one of my biggest passions in life. If you're interested in seeing some good theatre, performance art or contemporary dance during your stay in Helsinki, I would be happy to give you tips on what's going on in the field here in Helsinki. I also love music, from techno to folk, and I go to clubs and gigs quite a lot. :)

If after reading my profile you feel like you would like to surf my couch, please send me a couch request (not a message) and describe somehow why would you like to stay at our place.

PHILOSOPHY

"Because I can and it's fun" is a philosophy I'm trying to live by.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I couchsurfed for the first time summer 2011 when I was in Berlin and in Copenhagen. I had such unique, great experiences surfing that I really want to do my best to offer such in Helsinki for the people I host. :)

I'm quite busy studying and working, and I'm quite often away from the city, because other half of the band I sing in lives in Oulu. I still try to host as often as possible!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Mostly good experiences.

Interests

Contemporary arts, both performing and visual. Movies, museums, cycling, dogs, sushi, Alsace wines, partying, parks, European cities, the archipelago of Helsinki, heavy summer rain and the sea.

Music, Movies & Books

I like music, a lot. Especially Radiohead, Nirvana, Moloko, Björk, The XX, Bon Iver, Huoratron, Nicolas Jaar, First Aid Kit, Nina Kraviz and Minä ja Ville Ahonen. Anything really from minimal techno to finnish jazz to folk and bluegrass music. I also write songs myself and sing in a band called Aino ja Joonas.

I like movies of for example Woody Allen, Thomas Vinterberg, Wes Anderson, Sofia Coppola, and Michael Haneke.

My favourite book is Camera Lucida by Roland Barthes. I also love short stories by Claire Castillon and some russian writers such as Anton Tsehov and Daniil Harms.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

In Varanasi, India, a 12 year old boy invited me and my friend to visit their home. He took us to the roof of their house (about fifth floor) on the New Year's day of the hindu calendar. The blue sky of Varanasi was full of colourful kites that people were flying to celebrate the new year.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a little bit of puppeteering and how to make a really good finnish oven-fried pancake.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Finland

Join Couchsurfing to see Aino's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile