Not Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ALEX_SAWYER’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 66 References 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Korean, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • English Teacher
  • English Literature and Philosophy graduate
  • From London, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Getting used to my new home in China


At the end of 2015 finished working in Seoul as an English Teacher in the public school system. Seoul is an amazing city and I loved my job.

I spent the next 7 months cycling across Asia from Hong Kong to Burma, having an incredible time. There's a few blogs etc on

I've used couchsurfing pretty consistantly over the last 3 years, and hosted a few people as well. I've stayed with some really amazing people and made a lot of close friends around the world.


Be nice to people

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'd like to make good and long-lasting friendships with whoever I stay with or host.


3 nights in Brugge. with my Dad, hosted by a great guy called Filip.

7 nights in Amsterdam, staying with 3 different hosts, Thijs, Adam and Victor. Incredible experience, would live to go back to visit them all!!

1 night in Pau, surfed at David and Farida's beautiful apartment, they were such lovely and welcoming people, I can't wait till they come to London!

1 week in Oslo, Norway. Stayed with Wouter and Anette - amazing experience!

1 week Stockholm, Sweden, staying with Otto and Peter. Hitched here after Norway, beautiful place, beautiful people :D

1 week in Hamburg, Germany, travelled with Matt, staying with Martin and Vanessa,

9 days in Berlin, Germany, staying with Claire and Marvin,

3 weeks in Paris, France

Many nights in India, staying with a whole bunch of different couchsurfing hosts.

Many Nights in The Gambia, Senegal, Mauritania and Morocco

Many Nights in Eastern Europe

Many nights in South and Central America

Singapore, Indonesia, China and Korea too :)


I've very in to live music and gigs, and play in a couple of bands. I love travelling (obviously). I've played guitar and viola since I was a kid, so if you have a guitar I love jamming. I also write and make films, as well as dabbling in a bit of photography.

  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • mathematics
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Wes Anderson films (rushmore, royal tennenbaums, life aquatic, darjeeling limited etc etc)
John Steinbeck Books (tortilla flat, east of eden etc etc)
Mumford and Sons, Johnny Foreigner, Tubelord, Sigur Ros, Bjork, Blink 182, Biffy Clyro, Jamie T, Frightened Rabbit, Matt and Kim, The National, Damien Rice, DJ Yoda

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Hitchhiked from England to Croatia in 7 crazy days

-Hitchhiked alone up the entire Western Sahara

-Hitchhiked from Bosnia Herzegovina through 5 other countries to Turkey in a week, catching 47 lifts

-Worked in a monkey orphanage in the Amazon rainforest

-Played on BBC radio 1 - a national radio station

-Taught a class of Indian boys English and Maths

-Jumped on an Iron Ore transporter across Mauritania - the longest (and most horrifically cramped and uncomfortable) train in the world (2.5km long)

-Swam to beach island off coast of Africa.

-Streaked through central Barcelona, Berlin and London

- Went down 2100 ft in a home made submarine off the coast of Honduras

Teach, Learn, Share

Hitch-hiking is a great way to meet new people as well, and you get a euphoric feeling when some kind person stops to pick you up!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Italy, Laos, Lithuania, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Nicaragua, North Korea, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, South Korea, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see ALEX_SAWYER’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups