Alexander Maguire's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Arabic, German, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • BA Anthropology
  • From Phoenix, AZ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I just graduated from Reed College in the USA and am studying Arabic in Fes, Morocco. I have traveled all through the US, but have done very little elsewhere, so I am hoping to use Fes as a home base for traveling around Europe and Africa. I studied linguistic and cultural anthropology in school and am always interested to learn about different places, different languages, and different ways of living.

Music has been my primary hobby from a young age, and I know how to play guitar, drums, bass, piano, as well as the computer. I like pretty much any type of music and am definitely down to jam wherever. I will probably return back to American in a year or so to start a graduate program in anthropology, but for now I am enjoying being abroad.

Although I am fairly new to CS, I hope to promote the classic ethos of community-building and hospitality. It is super important to develop these networks and communities of like-minded people interested in traveling, exploring, and generally understanding the world we all live in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hope to hang out all over the globe with anyone and everyone! I know CS is changing a bit for the worse as people search for a free place to stay, ignoring the CS ethos, but I can assure everyone on the network that I am interesting in growing the CS network in a positive way.

Interests

Music, cooking, literature, languages, philosophy, science.

I grew up listening to punk and noise rock, but now I listen mostly to electronic music and hip-hop. I still like all the old favorites.

I am really interested in French literature, philosophy, and film.

After living abroad for a bit, I will probably return to the USA to go back to school.

  • literature
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • music
  • electronic music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • drums
  • anthropology
  • languages
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I tend to find most types of music interesting in some way, but my taste is always changing. After being mostly interested in rock and punk music, I now mostly listen to electronic, classical, and hip-hop.
Just a brief array of artists I like:
-Slowdive
-DJ Rashad
-Maurice Ravel
-Galcher Lustwerk
-Frankie Knuckles

Movies: I wish I watched more movies... Most of my favorites are older French ones. I like Chris Marker and Jean-Luc Godard. That type of stuff.
Sans Soleil

Books:
19th Century French stuff is pretty cool, but I also like the American classics. I was pretty into Michel Houellebecq last year. I like reading anthropology, linguistics, history, philosophy, and literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I toured the entire USA with my band, Hausu. We broke up afterwards, but it was still cool. Here's my bandcamp: http://hausu.bandcamp.com/. I wish I still had our tapes..

Teach, Learn, Share

General positivity.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good vibes. Cleanliness. No snoring. Great breakfast skills. Attentive listening. Clothes. Networking. Interests. Whatever!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, France, Germany, Hungary, Mexico, Morocco, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Morocco, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!