Alie & Michael Tesser's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alie & Michael’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Finance
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

We met over five years ago during employee training sessions for our Goldman Sachs summer internship, where we passed the time creating a list of places in the world we dreamed of visiting. Fast forward to 2015, and we are now engaged, working full-time, living in New York City (well, only part time for Alie as her job requires frequent trips to East Africa) and still dreaming of our next trip. Following our marriage in December 2015, we will shed both the “working full-time” and “living in New York City” titles as we plan to embark on a year-long honeymoon around the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We are hoping to couchsurf throughout our vagabonding experience in search of special, interesting and, above all, fun and funny experiences. We believe that you get to know a place by getting to know its people. We are open minded and interested in meeting new people, and hope that the couchsurfing experience will help us to feel a bit more local at each place we visit.


We enjoy: hiking, yoga, exploration, spending time with friends and family, reading and laughing. On top of that, Michael enjoys: brewing beer, environmental causes and reliving his childhood years at summer camp, while Alie enjoys: running as a subpar marathoner, dance, and all things food (particularly dessert).

  • dancing
  • causes
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • yoga
  • running
  • drinking
  • reading
  • homebrewing
  • hiking
  • camping

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We trekked for several days through the Uganda countryside and forests, during which we stayed with a local family that did not speak a word of English, and introduced them to their first s’mores; Michael literally got ants in his pants; we played with the local children, who seemed to create a parade behind as us we trekked through the countryside, and Alie was charged at by a mountain gorilla, and proudly stood her ground.

Teach, Learn, Share

We are happy to share a meal, a drink, a laugh, or a walk around our favorite spots in New York City or Kampala. We are hoping to experience the same as we make our way around the World.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can share some decent cooking skills and some even better eating skills; pictures and stories from our homes and from our travels; wine, beer, and whiskey; and a love of experiencing life.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Burundi, Cambodia, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Rwanda, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alie & Michael’s full profile. It’s free!