Allison Chang's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Allison’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 22 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, German, Sign Language - American
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Human Being, sometimes Wild Animal
  • Northeastern University - Boston, MA - B.S. in Marketing,...
  • From Los Angeles, CA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be a sponge and not sponge others

ABOUT ME

I like jumping, hollering, laughing, growing, jousting, masticating, waving, squinting, inhaling, sipping, glowing, and zzz-ing. Last year I spent 4 months backpacking solo, and it was a tremendous experience. I went to 15 countries from Europe to Southeast Asia and man, did I come out of that trip with a ton of stories to tell. Now I live in the Netherlands (Eindhoven) for my new job and it's been great so far learning how to live the Dutch life as an American expat. I can't wait to take advantage of being in Europe and all its traveling opportunities! If you're interested in reading about my travel experiences and tips, you can see my blog here: www.changchangtravels.wordpress.comI love and am loved which truly makes me a lucky girl.

PHILOSOPHY

To produce more than I consume
To keep it simple

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

"SPREAD THE WORD, COUCHSURFING WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE"

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've met the best and worst people...just like in real life. Except the best are truly the best........! Many thanks to all of my lovely couchsurfing hosts all over the world!!!! Please note: I have 1 negative ref, take the time to read it. A great life example that the CS world isn't perfect. The guy ended up deleting his profile in the end - probably because he felt so guilty and ashamed, as he should!!! I learned that you can never expect the unexpected and you should take the bad with the good. In any case, I will always be a CS advocate, and proud of it :)

Interests

Here is a cheat sheet on some of my interests to facilitate light conversation:
-Loooove LIVE MUSIC (jazz, electronica, indie).
-Photography (I'm just beginning w/ my Canon G11)
-Scuba Diving!!
-Running & Yoga
-FOOD, please teach me to cook your favorite dish!
-Jumping from tall heights
-Unique crazy ass experiences that make go WTF?! This really brings me joy.
-Nerdy things aka video games, science, computers & dinosaurs
-Playful banter

  • arts
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • running
  • video games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • live music
  • jazz
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • science
  • sign language

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Sufjan Stevens, Freelance Whales, NIZLOPI, Royksopp, Armin van Buren, Daft Punk, Strokes, Phoenix, Thao, Medeski Martin & Wood, Lo-Fi-Fnk, Postal Service...the list goes on...
Movies: Amelie, Elling, and any Wes Anderson films
TV: How I Met Your Mother, Merlin, 30 Rock

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hung out with a Shaman in the Amazon jungle, scuba diving off an oil rig, jumping off sandy dunes in the Gobi desert, met a 60 year-old Japanese woman that survived the nuclear bomb in Hiroshima, bronze-casted my boob and had it proudly displayed in an art gallery...

Teach, Learn, Share

I learned to speak with my hands until the age of 3. Both of my parents are deaf and so as a result I learned Chinglish Sign Language, a hybrid of Chinese & American sign language that only my parents and I can understand. I can teach you our unique language. Especially the dirty sign words. It's quite useful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Netherlands, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Allison’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups