Laura Driscoll

Berkeley, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Graduate student / Photographer
  • B.A. and M.A.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I am a 4th year graduate student in Environmental Science at UC Berkeley in California. I laugh a lot, maybe too much, and I like meeting new people and exploring the world. I'm comfortable being quiet and keeping to myself, but I also love to live it up and go out in a group. I've been lucky enough to live and work in many places around the world, and my family and friends know me as the one who is always off exploring somewhere. Whether at home or abroad, I like to go running, biking, hiking, camping, wandering, photographing and having unique adventures.


To be low-impact (socially, environmentally, etc.) and to always try to leave things better. To notice what is usually not noticed. To smile at someone who looks sad, offer good directions to a lost person, and generally live the way I hope more people will.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My living situation right now unfortunately makes it impossible for me to host unless I have stayed with you, or we have a real-world link. I live in a shared home, and out of respect for everyone's preferences we stick to hosting friends. If you have hosted me, or if we are linked through people we both know, I would love to help you out. For anyone else: if you are in a real bind and you really need a spot, I can maybe try to help. I'm always willing to give advice about San Francisco and the East Bay areas (it's awesome here!), and might be able to meet for a drink if you need a friendly face to welcome you to the area.


I surfed in summer of 2011 and met lots of fantastic people all around France. It was a wonderful way to travel, and I would not have had nearly as great a trip without this community. Nothing makes you feel welcome and happy in a new town more than local people who are willing to offer great helpings of kindness. Nowadays back home, I'm giving advice and sharing possible lodging with current surfers.


Hiking, running, biking, dancing, good beer and wine, photography, music, travel, archaeology.

Music, Movies, and Books

Lock In, Ancillary Justice, Shantaram, Cutting for Stone, Daemon, The Poisonwood Bible, The English Patient, Crossing Open Ground, Pastwatch Redemption of Christopher Columbus.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sandsurfed a giant sand dune in northern Chile.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have language and art skills I am happy to share, which I have been building all my life. I am a do-it-yourselfer, so I'm always up for fixing things, building things, or finding creative ways to use the tools at hand to solve a problem in a non-traditional way. I also love brewing beer at home (ask me how!), gardening, cooking and baking, and creative writing. I am becoming a repository of random scientific knowledge now in my career (mostly environmental), so feel free to ask me anything about the food system, world environmental + economic history, etc. I am always glad to learn new cooking tricks, play music, and maybe pick up knot-tying for all uses...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Beer brewing
Gardening tips
Help around the house

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Chile, England, France, Guatemala, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, Tanzania, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Peru, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!