Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andy Martín’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 51 References 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • MSc in Globalisation & Latin American Development at UCL
  • From St Albans, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a 23 year-old student living in London. I was born in the UK and my childhood was spent growing up with London and in Yucatán. More recently I have spent time living in Uruguay and Canada. After graduating in politics from the University of Bath I worked as an English teacher in rural Quebec. Currently I work as a vice-warden at the UCL hall of residence where I live and am studying my masters in Latin American Development. My academic research is focussed around the role of transportation and urban mobility in Latin America.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started CouchSurfing in 2010 and since then I have travelled around the world and CS has played a big part in that. I've also been able to host so many people and I think I actually enjoy that more than surfing. Every day of my life I try to 'travel', to look at the world from a different perspective and create new ideas.
I love to share my world with other people and learn about theirs.

Interests

Politics, Transportation, Geography, International Relations, Economics, Architecture, Infrastructure, Languages. I love maps! I am a very active person and love walking/trekking, running: anything that involves being outdoors! Photography, Urban landscapes, contemporary art, history, sustainable living, good beer!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelling all the way to the 'bottom' of the world in Chile.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know London like the back of my hand, I can teach you some Spanish or some French, and I can cook you some really good vegetarian food!

What I Can Share with Hosts

You would be staying on the floor in my room at the university residence.

In terms of accommodation all I can offer you is a mattress on the floor, a hot shower and wifi. As I am a student my schedule has manic weeks and quiet ones, if it's a crazy week I tend to say no to surfers because I like to take a bit of time to show them round the city. I love to hang out with my surfers and when I'm not studying/working and show you some of the lesser known parts of London and go for a few beers.

I haven't hosted for a while but now my schedule is freeing up a bit I'd like to share being a student in this amazing city with some cool couchsurfers!
I like to spend time with my surfers and to get to know them. I understand that sometimes you have to send out several requests, particularly for a city as big as London, but please write a line in your request saying why you want to be hosted by me.

Finally, my friends and I are all very open minded, and I am gay. If either of those make you feel uncomfortable then I can happily recommend you a hostel to stay in.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Mexico, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andy Martín’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups