Logo orange

Alexander Marcus

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Accepting Guests

Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Not-for profit (Him: education, her:...
  • Him: BA in English and Master's Degr...
  • From Him: Cincinnati, OH, her: Raleigh, NC
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Balance

ABOUT ME

PLEASE NO MORE REQUESTS FOR APRIL/MAY OF 2009! WE'RE BOOKED! THANKS! Him: After a confusing five years at an overlarge midwestern university, the best of which was spent travelling in Germany, I moved to Austin, TX, and played the fiddle in various bands while teaching violin lessons privately to support myself. After four years of that, I decided to move to New York City and pursue teaching full-time, so I enrolled in the Teaching Fellows program and wound up teaching chess and creative writing in a juvenile detention center for three years. Now I supervise a night-school program in Brooklyn and pursue music, writing, and esoteric zaniness in my free time.

PHILOSOPHY

Him: "Hope is not the conviction that something will turn out well, but the certainty that something makes sense, regardless of how it turns out." - Vaclav Havel

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We are brand new at couch surfing! But my friend Jessica has recommended it highly, so we're giving it a try. Him: I had lots of great experiences in hostels and working on a farm in Germany, so I'm excited to reconnect to my itinerant bohemian roots.

Interests

Him: I like to read, write, cook, play my violin, ride my bike, play chess, enjoy friends, family and my relationship, and deepen my connection to others through physical health and spiritual practices. Her: Graphic novels, food, "Lost."

Music, Movies & Books

Him: The Big Lebowski; Bach, Bjork, and Ben Folds; too many to mention.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Him: I WWOOFed on a farm in Germany.

Teach, Learn, Share

Him: I have taught chess, fiddle, and writing professionally.

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile