Tim Ashworth's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • gardening, procrastinating (often by gardening) / trabaja...
  • Ive sunk a lot of my time into the western education syst...
  • From Perth, Western Australia / Australia occidental
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

skilling up (and recruiting) for the zombocalypse... / el aprendizaje de habilidades (y la contratación) para el zombocalypse ...

ABOUT ME

Having filled in a lot of the other sections first I kinda feel like there's not much left to say here.

I play mostly guitar but also bass, drums, and a little bit of keyboard and banjo. I mostly play for my own enjoyment although I jam with friends on occasion. I put a lot of time into the community garden where I live, was on the board last year, as well as the garden coordinator and unofficial (as far as the authorities are concerned) live-in caretaker.

Yo traductor Google para traducir mi perfil, así que siento si el español es terrible. Espero que la gente todavía se puede entender, aunque ...

Después de haber llenado un montón de las otras secciones primera vez que siento un poco como no hay mucho que decir aquí.

Toco la guitarra en su mayoría, pero también bajo, batería, y un poco de teclado y el banjo. Yo sobre todo el juego para mi propio disfrute a pesar de que tocar con amigos de vez en cuando. Puse un montón de tiempo en el jardín de la comunidad donde vivo, estaba en la junta del año pasado, así como el coordinador de jardin y cuidador que vive alli (pero no dicen el gobierno local!)

PHILOSOPHY

can i do it myself? and how can i avoid wage labor?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would like to participate by staying with cool people who could show me around their home towns... going to shows, taking in the sights...ESPECIALLY seeing local community projects - art spaces, community gardens, bike workshops, squats...anything where interesting people congregate. University bars?

It's definately a two-way street, and in return I love cooking for people...I can teach some of the skills I've listed below (under teach learn share)...my music collection is always free to be exploited...

And of course when I'm at home and people are staying with me, all of the above but in reverse!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet...I mean, I've slept on people's couches before but not in a couchsurfing sort of a way. I only just signed up!

Interests

Plants, science, sustainabiliy, self-sufficiency, permaculture, cooking, eating, furniture-making, crafting, brewing, ethnobotany, music (playing and listening), cycling, tree-climbing, astronomy, wikipedia safaris, science fiction

  • arts
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • running
  • gardening
  • crochet
  • music
  • guitar
  • drums
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • astronomy
  • biology
  • chemistry
  • science
  • language exchange

Music, Movies, and Books

At the moment I'm really into stuff like the birthday party, iggy and the stooges, jesus lizard...modest mouse, rick james, parliament, old crow medicine show, trampled by turles, the pixies, charles mingus, pink floyd, WEEN! Beck...

Movie-wise I dont commit so much energy. But I like stuff by wes anderson, I liked eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, the science of sleep...stuff like that.

Books...fiction-wise...old-timey stuff like h.g. wells, jules verne, lewis carrol...the sherlock holmes stories. Recently read 'We' by yevgeny zamayatin, that was really cool.

Non-fiction-wise freakonomics was great...and otherwise lots of history and science stuff.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Iguazu falls recently blew my mind. Ive never seen so much fresh water in one place before...and the falls are just so...huge and loud and awesome.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a trained horticulturalist, have worked in nurseries, as a gardener, in revegetation and rehabilitation of natural areas... I've spent a huge amount of time experimenting and observing in the vegetable garden, am studying biology at university and read a lot about permaculture, (ethno)botany, mycology etc. So I guess first and foremost I can tell you a whole lot about plants! I also brew beer and wine, I've taught people crochet and macrame, although I'm still learning myself. I recently did chemistry at uni and it would be fun to revise that... I used to run a bike workshop so I'm not too bad at getting bikes working...and then we could ride the hell out of them.

I love learning new handycrafts...Im trying rather futilely at the moment to learn spanish, and want to try harder at that. Would happily do a language exchange

Countries I’ve Visited

New Zealand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina

Join Couchsurfing to see Tim’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups