Amélie G's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amélie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Philosophy
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I like to believe we can't describe ourselves and become something new at every moment. But I can still say that I am from Montreal QC, Africa and the Mediterranean sea. Currently I am trying to express myself in different ways, I write poetry, songs, novels and I just enjoy being anything I feel to become at the moment. I just finished my studies in philosophy, I wrote a thesis about the stigmatization of around sex work vs. the non-stigmatisation of any other jobs. I like to talk about human alienation and social norms. I also like to not take things seriously and just wander around and discover our beautiful and messy planet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I had great experiences on CS so far, I'd like to keep meeting lovely people. I am really passionate about my city so I'd be more that happy to help you discover Montréal.

Interests

I'm passionate about philosophy because I am curious about everything: arts, humans, nature, science, society, politics, etc. I also enjoy reading, drawing and dancing.

Music, Movies, and Books

Some of my favorite movies: Deathproof, Life is beautiful, Salo, Breathless, Je vous salue Sarajevo.
Books: Oscar Wilde, Kundera, Celine, Sartre, and many others, mostly French literature and philosophy.
Music: mostly hip hop and pop at the moment, but really almost any time of music from catchy pop to punk. I could spend years listening to Lana Del Rey and Cardi B albums.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living in the street in New York during winter.
Hitchhiking across Canada from west to est.
Writing a philosophy thesis about the concept of body commodification.

Teach, Learn, Share

I don't consider myself skilled enough at anything, but I'm always open to go to adventures, share my perspective about anything and get to know others views.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have one roommate, she's also on CS. We kinda know how it's like to travel alone as a woman* and be a CS guest, which does not necessarily always feels safe. Our space is inclusive and safe for women, non-binary, gender non-conforming, LGTBQ+. :)

I live in a big apartment, so there should often be some space in a guest room, the living room or the floor if you are a large group. I can share you my knowledge about Montreal and tips about travelling on a budget around Canada.

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lithuania, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Tunisia, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Amélie’s full profile.