Joel Shaughnessy's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Electrical Engineer
  • BSEE
  • From Taipei, Orlando, and Washington, DC
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See new places and faces.

ABOUT ME

I was born in taipei, Taiwan when my dad was an Engineer for a Steel Mill that was being built there, but we left when I was 3 months old. I am on my way back for the first time with my current round-the-world trip.

I spent the last 6 years working as an RF Engineer for a cell-phone company in the US. I got to be outside half of the time and do a little problem solving, so it was fun. Also, I worked with people from all over the world who had come here for school and jobs and talking to and befriending them made me really want to see the world outside of my country. I have done a little traveling on vacations, but now I've been laid-off from my job (voluntarily) and am embarking on a trip around the world before my savings runs out.

I am tall, thin, and found my first grey hair when I was 13.

PHILOSOPHY

Help where you can, don't tear others down to build yourself up, and if someone lets you stay with them, don't leave any dirty dishes.

I have been a vegetarian for nearly 10 years. I don't mind what other people eat, though!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Friends recommended this site to me as I put together my travel plans. Seemed like a noble cause so I got registered and donated some cash, but I haven't even gotten started yet!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Playing in bands, I have stayed on multiple floors and couches while travelling, and have extended the same kindness to numerous others when they have been in my town. I find the best way to see a new place is with a guide that knows where the really interesting things are.

When I lived in DC I would take people to see the monuments at night, because they were well-lit and nice looking and all of the crowds were in bed!

Interests

I enjoy taking pictures, making music, and meeting new people.

I play many instruments (accordion, guitar, keyboard, tuba, etc) but all for fun and none of them with any degree of expertise.

  • vegetarian
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • engineering
  • tourism

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Poland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups