Amy Grist's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • The Art of Living
  • Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, I am travelling with my boyfriend, we're both English teachers and we are interested in history, cultural identity and expression and the opportunity to learn and progress while exploring the world. We are very personable and enjoy the company of loving environments, people, families and animals.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm interested in meeting people who live locally, who have knowledge and interest of their cities to help me gain a greater appreciation of where I am and enrich my time on this beautiful planet. We use Couchsurfing to meet hosts, it's all about the people, a place to stay is a great bonus, but not our main motivation.
I also love to discuss life and to share culinary experiences with local produce, we'll be exploring the markets.

Interests

I have an anthropological interest in the natural world and have set out to explore the diversity of South America, learn its history and feel its soul. I am also travelling to learn local languages and dialects and to help people to learn my native language and can offer conversational practice in typical British English.

I enjoy philosophical or scientific discussion and enjoy hiking, biking and reading in the sunshine. We would love to be contacted by any academic researchers to understand your studies in local areas. I am learning yoga and try to complete a session each morning and my boyfriend guides meditation sessions, explaining Eastern and ancient philosophy and we seek out vipassana meditation retreats on our journey. We are happy to teach yoga or guide meditation if you have an interest.

We thrive on fresh produce and hunt organic fruits and vegetables. We love fine cuisine and keep an eye out for culinary talents when we're exploring cities. Of note was a taster menu at Gustu's in La Paz, Bolivia. We are vegan and we do not drink alcohol.

  • animals
  • culture
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • anthropology
  • dialects
  • genealogy
  • history
  • languages
  • psychology
  • science
  • tourism
  • taoism
  • cultural anthropology
  • vipassana
  • human behavior
  • eastern philosophy
  • evolutionary psychology
  • evolutionary biology

Music, Movies, and Books

I appreciate most genres of music, growing up through 90s grunge and rock/electronic, escape into sci-fi and classic/spiritual movies and usually have a few books on the go, switching between fact and fiction, as long as I'm learning I'm happy. Camus, Kundera, Orwell, London, Kipling, Verne etc.
We recommend Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari, and his latest book Homo Deus to understand what's ahead, Behave by Robert Sapolsky to understand more about human behaviour and and if you have time: Capital in the Twenty-First Century by Thomas Piketty

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being here is all that I could wish for. I believe that amazing experiences are more than fantastic circumstances, and more about the mundane of life that enriches us step by step. On this trip, being kitchen manager on a 10 day vipassana retreat in the mountains outside Cordoba was fantastically unique and rewarding experience, as is the number of times we've been blown away by the generosity of our hosts.

Teach, Learn, Share

Pick a subject, I'm all ears. Science, philosophy, politics, psychology, genetics... or just a chat with a cup of tea. We also teach languages, are nutritional enthusiasts and guide yoga and meditation. We can also share some ideas we've developed to stay on the road indefinitely, finding opportunities as you travel. We're good with graphic design and websites, home decoration and gardening.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've an inquisitive interest in linguistics, and if you're learning English we can have great conversations. We cook creative vegetarian dishes with whatever is seasonal and abundant. If you're interested in a detox, or a trial of vegan/raw diet, let us know before we come and we'll guide you through.

If you would like an online English lesson with me, you can see me here...
https://www.italki.com/i/CDHd0H

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Italy, Laos, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Italy, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy’s full profile.

My Groups