Amy Burrell

Southampton, Hampshire, England

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Sports Development
  • BA Hons Degree in Watersports and Management
  • From Weston-super-Mare, Somerset, UK
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


To be active, challenged and have many adventures!


I am easy going, friendly, honest and caring, I am always ready to help. I am a smiley person, a good listener and love meeting new people. I love my friends and am very close to my family but i also love travelling and everything that keeps me active, I'm a do'er and get easily bored doing nothing so I am always up to something!


You only get one life so I like to live it to the full! I love new challenges and experiences, seeing the world and how other people live. Some people live to work, I work to travel and gain new adventures! My weekends are packed full of activity so my work days are for recovery and getting ready for the next action packed weekend!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am very new to couch surfing, keen to meet new people along my travels and learn more about couch surfing along the way! When I am home in the UK I hope to host people, so even though my travelling has stopped for a while I can still hear other peoples adventures!


At this moment in time I only have one experience where I stayed with Michel, a French expat in Penang, Malaysia. He was a fantastic host, the set up in his condo was amazing, every little detail was thought of even down to a hair dryer and note book. He was so knowledgeable and helpful, teaching me a lot about couch surfing! Hopefully one day I can offer something as good in the UK!


I am a very active person, I love the challenge and adventure of all outdoor activities. My hobbies include kayaking, surfing, coasteering, caving, climbing, swimming, diving, walking and cycling. I love keeping fit in the gym too.

I am a member of a local Caving Club in England and love leading scouts underground for new experiences and going caving and climbing with friends. The world underground, is very beautiful with stalagmites, stalactites and mineral curtains to see. On the other hand there are small holes to squeeze through, waterfalls to climb under and caverns of mud to squelch across which is also very good fun!

I love art, massage and reading when chilling out. I love to visit friends and family. I love camping and holidays too.

I love worldwide travel and learning about different cultures, having toured and worked in America and visited many places around the world. I still have many places to see and many new friends to make!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have had many awe-inspiring moments during my travels, some of these include:

The Golden Temple in Amritsar, India, where pilgrims are cared for with free food in the food courts and given somewhere warm and dry to sleep. The system they have there is amazing the pilgrims and visitors alike volunteer and help to cook food 24 hours a day, clean the thousands of plates used and shelter is provided for everyone in need. Inside the temple it was so tranquil and sacred you could really feel a sense of belonging. It was such an amazing place to visit, a real eye opening, humbling experience!

Diving for the first time in the stunning Perhentian Islands, Malaysia was definitely a great moment for me. After being told I would never be able to dive due to an ear problem, I decided to ignore the doctors and try my luck. I booked on to do a discovery dive with a fantastic dive company in Malaysia, I was petrified but excited! I soon became pretty shocked that I could go down so deep (7 metres :) with no problems what so ever. The best part about it was that I got to see my two favourite fish the clown fish (Nemo) and the lion fish, I loved every second and booked to do my PADI Open Water qualification soon after!

Trekking in Nepal was an amazing experience too! My boyfriend and I trekked up Langtang Mountain to a Gompa at the top (3800m+). Over 7 days the route got better and better, we walked through forests, across rivers and up to the white mountain peaks. The wildlife of beautiful butterflies and woolly yaks was fabulous! The scenery took your breath away and we met some great people along the way too! We hope to go back and do Everest and the Annapurna circuit some day!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy’s full profile. It’s free!