Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Drae ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Self Employed
  • Graduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I grew up in the Comox Valley, lived in Montreal for about 5 years where I did art school and some circus school. I loved Montreal and met a lot of awesome people there. My roommates and I hosted quite a few couchsurfers at our lovely collective house.

Currently I am living in Victoria with my partner, Aspen (Aspen Swanson on my friends list), and we absolutely love it here! The summers are filled with lake visits, park hang outs and camping, while the winters consist of board game nights and awesome house dance parties to warm us up.

quick notable infos:
- I love animals, especially birds.
- I am both introverted and extraverted so I get along best with people who respect both of these sides.
- I love hosting theme parties
- I'm allergic to wine :'(
- I'm on team tea but I do love the smell of coffee in the morning.
- I haven't been on a ferris wheel but I really want to go on one.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing creates connections and great learning experiences. I love it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been both a surfer and a host. I have been more of a host but I am ready to dip my feet back into the surfing. So far all of my couchsurfing experiences have been great.

I've also hung out with surfers in the area/ invited them to my get togethers

If we can't host you, we may be able to give you some fun ideas of what to do in the city

Interests

I enjoy hanging out with a small group of chill friends who are down to have fun, we spend a lot of our time camping, hanging out in parks, swimming and exploring.

being outdoors! Day trips, hikes, bird-watching, animal watching, people-watching (In a non creepy sense), rope swinging, anything to get outside into nature.

I love dancing, but the club scene is not for me. I prefer to get my dancing out at summer festivals (shambhala, basscoast, etc) and house parties in the cold months.

One of my favourite activities is having crafts/ games nights, and potlucks. We usually play drawing games, screen movies, and play board games while cooking and eating good food.

Aerial Silks! it's my favourite form of fitness. Unfortunately It's been difficult for me to find a place to do them here in Victoria (Montreal had more options) So I haven't been on the silks for months which I am not too happy about. I'm very interested in finding a place and partners to do aerial silks with, and I want to learn other forms of aerial dance and circus, especially spanish web. I just got my first hula hoop, it's a beginner hoop that I made, and I am currently trying out this new hobby.

Something to note: I like my down-time as much as my up-time. If you are either my host or guest, you may find that every once in a while I may just need to sit and drink tea/ read for a bit by myself. It's the introvert in me, I'm not ignoring you, only recharging for more adventure.

I am LGBTQ friendly and don't tolerate racism, homophobia, etc etc

  • animals
  • music festivals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • house parties
  • crafts
  • drawing
  • minimalism
  • electronic music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • tea
  • costumes
  • programming
  • boardgames
  • web development
  • lord of the rings
  • organizing
  • aerial silks
  • stretching
  • shambhala
  • thrift store shopping
  • clothing swaps
  • costume making
  • potlucks

Music, Movies, and Books

Right now I have been listening to lot's chill electronic. But I'm also a fan of acoustic, and most other genres

Books, here's a list of my all time favourites: The Poisonwood Bible, Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Catcher in the Rye, One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest, The Electric Koolaid Acid Test, and Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy.

and don't even get me started with comic books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I used to volunteer at an odd bird sanctuary that involved getting a 30 minute boat ride to a tiny island that only took ten minutes to walk across. The boat would drop us off and we had to stay there for 1 week intervals with a 4 person crew. Our job was to make sure the seagulls were doing all right and to keep the drunk party boats away from them. my highlights were swimming with curious seals, and finding a volley ball that washed up on the shore that looked exactly like Wilson from Cast Away.

I've volunteered at the Shambhala sanctuary for three years (I'm taking this year off to road trip, hey portland!). We provide social services and outreach to festival goers, similar to Zendo Project and DanceSafe at Burning Man.

I've volunteered at Head & Hands in Montreal. We provided holistic sexual health education to youth.

Teach, Learn, Share

- cooking!

- Are you a potential host and have a sturdy exposed-top beam in your house? Let me know before I travel to you and I can bring my aerial silks and show you a few moves.

Learn: I want to learn hula hoop!

Join Couchsurfing to see Drae ’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups