Logo orange

Andreas Sator

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

56% response rate · Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andreas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Journalist
  • Degree in Economics
  • From Lower Austria, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Servas (hey there)! I'm Andy, 24, and on Couchsurfing for three years now. I go to CS meetings from time to time, host people every now and then and surf too little.

I'm open minded and love to meet new people and discover new places and ideas. I really like to read, talk and write about the world (the latter is luckily what I get paid for).

If you plan to visit Vienna, I would be very happy to offer you my couch, meet you for a drink or at a CS meeting or elsewhere. Just let me know your plans, if you just need a couch to sleep and don't have time or don't want to hang out, that's cool too.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

Because it's awesome.

My small history: I surfed at 4 places in 2 countries (USA, England) and hosted 17 people from 10 different countries (Belarus, Argentina, South Korea, USA, Romania, Israel, Chile, Mexico, Lithuania and China).

This year, 2015, I hosted Taylor from Grinnell, which is in Iowa in the States, for a night in January. In March Luciano from Buenos Aires stayed 3 nights, after that, Kasparas from Kaunas, Lithuania, stayed for 4 nights and then Gabriela from Caracas, Venezuela, stayed 1 night. In April I travelled through the South of England and stayed at Eamonns' place in Weymouth for a night.

In 2014, Remus from Oradea in Romania stayed at my flat for 3 nights in February. After that, Ohad from Be'er Scheva in Israel, paid me a short visit for a night in June. After that, Julia and Elisa from Santiago de Chile stayed for 2 nights. In July I hosted Montserrat from Ciudad de México for 3 nights. In August, Zhi from Yantai in China, needed a couch to sleep for a night.

The year before, 2013, I started hosting . I had over Artyom from Grodno, Belarus, for 2 nights in February. After that, also in February, two Argentinians, Andrés and Eduardo, from Córdoba, for 2 nights. In April, June and Gilbert, South Koreans from Pohang and Season, stayed for 2 nights. In July, Nic and Sonja from California (Mill Valley), a couple, stayed for 5 nights.

In 2012 I surfed the first time on a trip through the US. I surfed in Philadelphia (Hannes Mehrer, 1 night), in Virginia Beach (Geri Waycie, 1 night) and in Wilmington (Brit Garner, 1 night).

Interests

Laughing, learning, talking, reading, writing, watching small kids falling down, travelling, sports, the nature and getting smart.

Music, Movies & Books

My favourite book is "Die Welt von gestern" by Stefan Zweig, an Austrian writer, in which he describes the world between the two world wars, how Vienna is changing and how his own life is affected by that.

I like all kinds of music, especially Spanish songs. I don't really watch movies, I'm more into series. For example I love House of Cards and Homeland.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Tough.. Swimming in the cristal clear water of Vieques/Puerto Rico was definitely something I will never forget. My first time out of Europe, studying abroad in the US, is also an experience that changed my life. I'd say Couchsurfing is too one of these amazing things, I keep meeting people I'd never met in my life otherwise.

Teach, Learn, Share

If I can do something well than it's digging long enough into something 'til I totally grasp it. I spend a lot of time thinking about what's going on in the world and around me, so maybe I can share some interesting thoughts with you.

For me it doesn't really make a lot of sense to list things I want to learn from CS. I am convinced that there are so many things out there I could and probably will never think of. So yes, maybe that's one thing I can list: I would like to learn new ways to think, to live my life, get in touch with different world views and want to discover stuff to do that I've never heard of.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, England, France, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Andreas's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile