Andrew Ilsley's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Georgian, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Trainee potter
  • Currently studying ceramics. MAs in medieval english and ...
  • From A field in the middle of Herefordshire
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

Open but not in your face. Trying to live heart first not head first.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Sharing, exchange, hosting and gift are much more exciting to me than money transactions. They open doors for connections that mean something.

Interests

I really like Georgian folk music and sing with a Georgian ensemble in Dublin, i play quite a lot of music on guitar, ukulele, banjo, mountain dulcimer, chunuri (from georgia) mbira (from zimbabwe) but I love playing singing and improvising with other people. i love folk songs from all sorts of countries too. I am training to be a potter and am addicted to ceramics but any sort of making with hands is really exciting to me. Talking to strangers till they dont feel like strangers. Good food. Things that make my heart bounce.

  • singing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • pottery
  • knitting
  • origami
  • music
  • folk music
  • guitar
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

I like lots of folk music traditions, Georgian, English, French, American, Tuvan. Also delta blues, bluegrass, and anything that i can feel in my belly. The last really wonderful film i saw which stuck with me was Gadjo Dillo. Its brilliant. Im reading Eric Newby at the moment because i couldnt find Paul Theroux to take with me on adventures. i like Daniel Odier a lot, The Hair With Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal, poetry by William Carlos Williams, Gerard Manly Hopkins, Keats.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking to Georgia from Dublin. (It will be one amazing thing by the time we get there, hitching in italy is haaard)

Teach, Learn, Share

Ready to teach or share a few Georgian folk songs, ukulele, spoon carving, english, a few tunes on the mbira, how to do mongolian overtone singing. Looking to learn more french, Spanish and Italian, good recipies, how to knit, origami, folk songs from any country. I really like musical improv with voices or instruments if you'd be into that.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am house trained good company. I can share a few songs or a few tunes if you'd like them and I should be able to cook something fairly tastey with whatever you have in your cupboard.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Brazil, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Swaziland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!