Andrew Milton

London, London, United Kingdom

Andrew Milton

London, London, United Kingdom

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 18 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 119 References 95 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Japanese, Korean, Spanish
  • 59, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Civil Servant. Until I took early retirement. Now free(er).
  • Degree in Modern History, Oxford University
  • From Edenbridge, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To put my sedentary life behind me & do some serious post-retirement travel.

ABOUT ME

I love living in London and showing it to visitors: have quite a lot of historic and local knowledge. Easygoing, pleasant sort of guy. Good company.

I have taken early retirement from my job as a civil servant. Have therefore been globetrotting whle I can stil trot. My future plan is to spend summers in London and to travel during the English winter.

I will be travelling from September 2016 to April 2017. There will be a flat mate in my home during that time. To reassure him, during that period I will only accept Couchsurfers in my London home whom I have already met.

I was born in London, brought up in Kent, studied History at the University of Oxford , and then lived in Sheffield and London, where I used to work for the UK government. My family live in New Zealand, with a brother in Australia. I have worked briefly in Paris.
.
You can read more about me & my travels on social media:

blog: andrewmilton.tumblr.com
Facebook: fb.com/andrew.milton
Twitter: @andrewmilton
Instagram: milton_andrew

LANGUAGES

I should clarify what languages I speak. . I am a native English speaker. I speak reasonably good French, but it is not perfect and I need to practice more. I studied Latin at school and get the gist of Romance languages if they are written down. I have a little German and Japanese, and scraps of the languages of the countries I have visited.

PHILOSOPHY

Agnostic on religion. Liberal in politics. Would like to be an Epicurean but more like a Stoic.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I did a lot of hosting when I lived in London and hosted again in BKK. , I Couchsurfed quite a bit while I was travelling in Asia, Australasia and Latin America for several years and would like to repay the good karma by hosting again now that I have returned to London.

From the Letter to the Hebrews:
"Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing that some have entertained angels without knowing it."

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have been hosting since October 2010. Couchsurfed in NZ in May 2011 and in Scotland in October 2011. Have couchsurfed in India and SE Asia during 2012, and in China, Korea and Japan in 2013. Then in Latin America, and then Korea and Japan again in 2015. I Couchsurfed in Tunisia and Rome at the end of 2015. Currently travelling overland from Paris to Turkey with my Korean CS friend Amigo Bae. We have an arrangement whereby I specialise in anything needing European language skills and a debit card such as arranging accommodation and travel and he specialises in cooking, cleaning, tidying up etc. We sometimes argue but rarely in front of CS hosts

Interests

History, music, theatre, opera, cinema, London. I used to be actively involved in politics and was a Liberal Democrat local councillor. Not actively involved any more but I am still interested. Want to develop a more sustainable life style.

Happy to go with couchsurfers to theatre, concerts and opera etc and on walks which do not involve too many stairs or clambering up dangerously steep slopes.

  • concerts
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • opera
  • history
  • languages
  • local history
  • world history

Music, Movies, and Books

Prefer classical music but open to all genres.

Favourite movies include
Sono L'amore, Inception, Requiem For A Dream, Cabaret, Pan's Labyrinth, Casablanca, Spirited Away, Shaun of the Dead, the films of Kim Ki Duk, Les Garçons et Guillaume à Table, C.R.A.Z.Y, Paddington

Tacitus, Proust, Vagabonding, Saki, Akutagawa

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Helped negotiate the enlargement of the European Union (free movement of workers).

Teach, Learn, Share

Lots of knowledge of English history and some of the rest of the world! Into the Classical World and Ancient Egypt. Experience of central & local Govt and politics in England. Happy to help people improve their English language skills if they can also help me improve my skills n their language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of stories about my travels and England and its history. Gifts. The prospect of a couch in London.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    11 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups