ANIMACOL's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ANIMACOL’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 27 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • work to live
  • uni of life..live and let live
  • From East Sussex, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To find my niche in the world and seize each opportunity as if the last.

ABOUT ME

Some time ago I was very ill. after making a full recovery, I decided that life was too short to spend it in one place. Ive always had a passion for travel. Although I do like to see touristy things, I love to experience new cultures and traditions and get off the beaten track. My idea of heaven is to wake up in the wilderness of the mountains, My idea of hell is to wake up in Ibiza! My wife and I are currently residing in Alicante province on the Costa Blanca in Spain with our little baby boy - I think our travels will be put on hold for a while - scary!

PHILOSOPHY

"The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page" - St Augustine 354-430AD.

Travel makes one modest when you realise how insignificant your life has been and what a minute speck you occupy. Live to learn and learn to love...CARPE DIEM.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By joining the site I am hoping to meet new acquaintences from the four corners of the world. I have rooms available for couch-surfers and hopefully will gain valuable friendships from this. When able to im happy to host, but this house is our home and we are welcoming you into our lives for the duration of your stay so if you just want to use it as a free alternative to a B&B then your better off contacting the YHA. Also, when we invite CSers to stay, we are giving up our time to accommodate you so would appreciate as much notice as you can give. We do understand there are often unforeseen circumstances causing plans to change so if thats the case a courtesy call/email wouldnt go amiss as ive wasted my time previously on more than one occasion waiting for people who never show and dont have the decency to let me know.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since joining the CS project I have met a multitude of people from all over the world and it still amazes me how they are willing to open their homes and hearts to total strangers who come from completely different backgrounds. It has truly been a life enhancing way for me to travel and meet new people - long may it continue. In 2011 my VW van was converted into a makeshift camper/minibus and I organised an international couchsurfing road trip around several countries in Europe having representatives from all over the world. Although to organise it was a logistical nightmare the experience was amazing with the van being pretty full all the way and with the generosity of other couchsurfers we were hosted throughout despite us being a fairly large group of travelers. A big thank you to all those who were a part of it, its an experience ill never forget and would love to do again some day.

Interests

Love the outdoors and the wilderness. Enjoy and participate in climbing/mountain climbing/Hiking/most sports though dont always have the time/Motorcycles (but not talking about the inner workings of them)/camping/dogs.Love to travel and cant wait to be backpacking again.
Not keen on cats,litter-louts,couch potatoes or mushrooms!

  • dogs
  • books
  • motorcycles
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I'll read pretty much any travel writing and listen to most types of music though tend to draw the line at lyrics shouted into the mic/gangsta rap or 'dancy-sounds-like-a-car-alarm' type stuff. As for movies, pretty much anything with good plot and acting. Not the biggest fan of Lost/sex and the city though.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ive woken to the dawn of a new day atop a snow-capped mountain, run with the porters in the Andes, played draughts with the locals in a Greek cafe, taken the baths in Turkey, danced a traditional dance in Peru and narrowly missed being caught in a shoot out in Poland, but nothing prepared me to see a flamingo on Newhaven beach!
In 2015 my wife and I took a motorbike the length and breadth of Vietnam riding from the Mekong in the south right up to the Chinese border in the north all the while criss-crossing the entire country culminating with a 1 day ascent of Fanzipan the highest peak in Indochina. The 2500km one way trip was a fantastic albeit very tiring experience especially for my poor wife who we later learned was pregnant! So, no more road trips - well, not for a while at least...

Teach, Learn, Share

Not sure what I can teach, possibly some English or my wife can teach you some Vietnamese should you wish. Im not bad at chess and know how to play both the standard and Chinese versions or perhaps you prefer a card trick?
I love acoustic guitar and attempt to play but be warned, im not very good at it so can probably only teach you to play equally badly ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories and a meal mainly :)
I consider myself an easy going individual quite chatty and passionate about travel.
If your planning a roadtrip of sorts I could possibly assist with some advice about the logistics of it having done several in the past.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Peru, Poland, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see ANIMACOL’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups