Antoine Blin's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Antoine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning English
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • French teacher
  • No education listed
  • From Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everyone !

I'm Antoine, a french teacher who lives in Angers (Maine et Loire)
I love to discover new cultures, so I travel as much as I can.

PHILOSOPHY
I am agnostic, humanist and I praise the nuance because there's not a single thing all white or all black.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing mainly because of 2 reasons :
1. I like to encounter new people from all around the world.
2. I love my home region, and I like to share my passion.

Interests

I love litterature (hey, there's a reason why I'm a french teacher !), most notably poetry but I'm also fond of novels and theatre (Racine in particular)
My favourite poet of the moment is Francis Ponge, but this is subject to change...

I am also an ABSOLUTE cinephile. I'm not really a cinephage (I don't watch movie every day), because I prefer quality to quantity, but cinema is a real passion to me.
I love all kind of movies, but I must admit that I have a particular affection to genre films (Westerns, SF, horror movies, musicals...).
My favourites directors are Steven Spielberg, Jacques Demy and Werner Herzog.

My interests doesn't stops at art : I'm also a bird-watcher who can wait several hours just for seeing one particular raptor !

Last but not least : I'm a rollercoaster enthusiast, therefore if there is a good amusement park near your city, I will very likely try it !

I'm a very curious guy, so my interests are in definitive quite various. Although I'm definitly not a specialist in those disciplin, I like to learn about sciences like biology, geology, physics and mathematics.

I have various artistic hobbies : I write (mostly poetry and movie critics), I draw...

  • arts
  • movies
  • drawing
  • travel
  • cinema
  • videogames
  • litterature
  • rollercoasters
  • teacher
  • birdwatching
  • amusement parks
  • cooking and eating

Music, Movies, and Books

At this day, my favourites movies are War of The Worlds (Steven Spielberg), Akahige (Akira Kurosawa) and Singin' in the Rain (Stanley Donen). But this changes quite frequently.

I think my favourite book is Gargantua by François Rabelais... But I also love La Peste by Camus, La Rage de l'expression by Francis Ponge, Partage de Midi by Paul Claudel...

I don't have a very solid musical culture, but I listen to all kind of music !

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching hundreds of vultures flying near a cliff in the Pyrenees... absolutely glorious.

I also saw Fincancial District (New York) by night, from the Brooklyn Bridge. Easily the most beautiful urban landscape i've ever seen in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I'm a french teacher, so I suppose I can teach french a bit... ;) or at least inform you about the (fascinating) incongruities of french grammar ! I can also talk to you about french literature.
I think I'm a decent cooker, so it will be a pleasure to prepare some tasty dishes with you ! I can teach some of the french classics like "steak poivre", "bavette à l'échalotte", "boeuf bourguignon" (if you want to cook during 7h or so), "poisson au beurre blanc"...
I'm fond of italian gastronomy, so I can cook some neat pasta sauces as well : pesto, carbonara (NO CREAM), cacio e pepe, amatriciana (<3)...

Last but not least, I can give you some tips about amusement parks ! There's the worldwide famous Puy du Fou at approximatly 1h from Angers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can show you the wonders of Angers or the countryside nearby, talk with you about "les vins de la loire", we can visit a museum together, watch birds in a wetland... plenty of nice things to do here !

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France

Join Couchsurfing to see Antoine’s full profile.