Logo orange

Anton Valur

Reykjavik, Greater Reykjavik, Iceland

Wants to Meet Up

94% response rate · Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anton Valur's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 21 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic, Norwegian; learning Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Medical student
  • 2nd year med student. I also have th...
  • From Hafnarfjörður, Iceland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

- These days I mostly host while on breaks from med school, I might invite you over but then that's on my initiative. I'm open to requests for meeting up over a cup / glass of *insert your preferred beverage* for travel ideas and what-have-you though -

Your best bet is to get to know me and then form your own opinion ...

My attempt to describe myself in a few words regardless: Like to travel for culture and inspiration, not sights. Curious about (almost) everything and anything. Fairly introverted but have my outbursts of wackiness.

Not afraid of changing my mind and taking U turns. Prefer brutal honesty over tip-toeing around issues. Generally laid back with basic needs. Very loyal to those I consider my friends.

The outcome is good cake.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I like to help people in general. Granted, you make different connections with different people but CS has the capacity to expand your horizons through the minds of people from other cultures that might have a completely different outlook on life than yourself (this is fairly cheesy, but pretty true).

Also, since I started this long-ass med school journey of mine I neither have as much money nor time to travel as before, so perhaps I'll be able to do some armchair traveling via hosting :)

I prefer to host 2-3 nights to begin with. 1 night is too much of a "in and out" without any connection (though I sometimes do accept last minute requests for single nights). If I really dig you (and you dig me) and you want to stay longer I do allow that. But let's call the first 2-3 days the "trial period"...

Number of times hosted: 14 times / 32 nights Numer of times surfed: 2 times / 3 nights

Nationalities hosted: German, Canadian (2x), Irish (2x), USA (3x), Polish, Finnish, Russian, Hungarian, Mexican, English, Brazilian, New Zealander, Australian

Surfed: Finland (Helsinki) - yep, I'm a statistics geek as well

Interests

Travel, music, learning, hiking, biking (both muscle & motor versions), languages, cooking, philosophical discussions, science, tech, the human body (*wrarr*).

Interested in everything connected to entrepreneurship and greatly respect people doing their own thing.

Not a party animal by any stretch of the word(s) but I do enjoy going out from time to time. There might even be some (bad) dancing involved.

At times I'm obsessed with coffee, beer and tea - types and brewing methods.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Pretty much anything I like the groove of, genre is secondary. Music is some powerful stuff, has the ability to completely change my mood, pump me up for exercise and so on. I can listen to anything from Dave Brubeck to The xx to 2Pac to Opeth and love discovering new stuff. Some favorites: In Flames, The Black Keys, Moses Hightower, Valdimar, Hjálmar (the last three are Icelandic) and countless more...

Books: To mention a few ... Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, Shantaram, Murakami books, Nassim Nicholas Taleb books, The Catcher in the Rye, The Fountainhead and many more.

Movies: I tend to gravitate toward shorts and documentaries these days. I blame youtube for messing up my attention span :). Generally movies don't leave as much a mark on me as music and books do... so nothing immediately pops to mind - though some Hollywood, indie and foreign films are quite good.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Camino de Santiago in 2011: Camino Frances (780km hike from St. Jean-Pied-de-Port in France to Santiago de Compostela in Spain in 30 days) - amazing experience, amazing people.

Training for search & rescue volunteering (started 2013, continues on to 2015): Again, great people, great companionship, great knowledge gained.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Anton Valur's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile