Anu Samarajiva's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anu’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Columbus OH, Rockville MD, Colombo SL
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

You must do the thing you think you cannot do

ABOUT ME

I'm small and lots of times quiet, but i love to laugh. I am especially willing to laugh at myself since i have no real sense of dignity left, and am for the most part still a little kid. In spring 08 I studied in Paris, and was more than I ever imagined, in both good and bad ways.. though overwhelmingly good. Despite, or maybe because of all the mistakes and embarrassing things I did there, I've grown a thicker skin and learned a lot. I met wonderful people who have passion and curiosity for life, and I've taken back some of that with me for my last year of college.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to be kind. Sometimes i'm grumpy and I fail at it, but I try. I'm trying to find my one thing that is my passion and that i can learn to do well, and I hope it's something that contributes to the world. I learn all the time from people and from readings in class and from the newspaper and from all over... and i'm still putting it all together in my head, but it's exciting that there's so much to learn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Well, I've just started... but I want to begin with surfing and hosting, and then find even more specific ways to participate.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None through this community... yet. I've stayed on friend's and family's couches, and it worked out best when we had good communication.

Interests

I love art... doodling little things and going to museums to see the real stuff. I like to people watch, and to wander around cities until i'm lost and hungry and tired. I'm generally clumsy and poorly coordinated, but I love hiking and running and playing in nature. Cartwheels (though i can't quite do them right) and rolling in the grass and falling asleep in the sun. And dancing! And I'm always up for trying new food and creating dishes, especially sweet ones. Well, I'm mostly into the eating part. But I always help with the dishes afterwards. Ice cream! And making faces at babies.

  • arts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • running
  • walking
  • crafts
  • hiking
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

My host family just introduced me to Raymond Carver's short stories, which I liked. I really felt a connection to Emily Carr's (Canadian artist) autobiography Growing Pains, especially since she came to Paris and was tired and inspired here. Pride and Prejudice, Catcher in the Rye... and Wodehouse always puts me in a good mood. I loved Bienvenue chez les ch'tis, and it made me feel accomplished to watch it in French. Ooh 3:10 to Yuma was super good! I really enjoy Parisian cinemas, and would have spent all day in them if the weather hadn't suddenly got all beautiful. I listen to all kinds, but i really like Heartless Bastards (from Cincinnati!), Belle and Sebastian, and Rocky Votolato. Ooh, and i love this american life and garrison keeler... I'm just a big NPR dork actually

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent last summer living and working in a little neighborhood of Cincinnati, Ohio called Over-the-Rhine, spending my weeks there with kids, in gardens, and walking the city. I've never felt so quickly and wholly embraced by a community that felt so alien when I first entered it, and I think of that place and the people I met there often.

Teach, Learn, Share

I make some pretty sweet paper snowflakes. No really, I can do the cut and paste crafts pretty well. I've also started teaching English to 4 year olds... so if you're 4, and want to learn English...

Countries I’ve Visited

Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Sri Lanka, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Anu’s full profile. It’s free!