Aistė Volkytė's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aistė’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Lithuanian; learning Czech, German, Russian
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Dentistry
  • Masters Degree
  • From Kaunas, Kaunas County, Lithuania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an open, active person, talking too much and too loud, acting too fast, smiling too much and trusting people too much.

I have thousands of interests. Therefore I know a bit about everything, but nothing properly. I am just amazed by the world and want to learn everything. Not sure if that's good or bad.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.

I enjoy being a surfer - it's an opportunity to see new places and new worlds not only from tourist guide books, but from perspective of a person who lives in that other world.

I enjoy being a host - I want to share, to show my culture, my country as it is in my heart, not as in some tourist guide book.

Interests

Currently learning pole dancing :)
Handcrafts: sewing, beading, embroidery, calligraphy, needle tatting, drawing, graphic design, etc.
Poi, staff, fire fans spinning;
Medieval dances and medieval times;
Anime and manga
Music - I've been playing piano and guitar for a while, and kankle—s http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kankles for 6 years. But I stopped practising when I got into university - just doesn't have enough time for everything.

  • culture
  • books
  • design
  • graphic design
  • acting
  • anime
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • calligraphy
  • study abroad
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

People: George Carlin, Louis Theroux;

Books: Rainer Maria Rilke "Das Stunden Buch"
Haruki Murakami
Alessandro Baricco
George Orwell. 1984
Kari Hotakainen. Juoksuhaudantie
C. P. Estes "Women who run with the wolves"

Music: Nu-jazz (saint germain des pres cafes compilations)
Classical. Especially Chopin http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvxS_bJ0yOU&feature=related
Ska, Reggae, Indie, Rock, Punk, Gothic Electronic, Industrial....
And currently a lot of house, rave and club

It's not the music - it's people with whom you are listening to it

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

ERASMUS in Plzen, Czech Republic.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach something about dances of middle ages, something about Lithuania, something about Dentistry, juggling with poi.

The most interesting thing for me to learn is lives of people - how they live, how they struggle, what are their worries, how they cope with their problems, how do they find peace in their hearts. Stories of people from other cultures than mine is something that fascinates me the most.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Finland, Lithuania, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Aistė’s full profile. It’s free!