Logo orange

Dahlia Foo

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 17 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dahlia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), Korean
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • University student
  • Zoology, geography and environmental...
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION Get to Antarctic. Start a website that shares stories about the lessons I've learnt in life so far. Develop my youtube channel by posting a video every two days!

ABOUT ME

I've recently graduated with an Honours in Marine Science in the University of Tasmania. My honours thesis was on the foraging behaviour of Australian fur seals. I love the natural environment. I wish to protect and conserve the environment. That is part of my life's purpose. I want to stop the destruction, and help people reconnect with their roots, i.e. nature. Though I grew up a city girl, I think I prefer to live closer to the wilderness. But I'm also very interested in the concept of Deep Ecology and I think it can be applied even to modern civilisation. I know majority of the human population live in cities, hence I'm also drawn to the idea of sustainable cities.

I like looking at the big picture of things; i.e. ecology, systems thinking. When you see the big picture, you can see the bullshit in our society. Once you see the BS, it's hard to un-see it. 2 years ago I gave up meat and dairy, and that's when my thinking began to change drastically. I've always been passionate about the environment, but I was still ignorant about many issues till I decided to change my diet. I started to learn so much more about how our world works, i.e. from factory farming, corporations putting profits before people, causing humans and non-human beings to suffer, and the media feeding us more BS, and all these factors have major links to global hunger, water shortage, and poverty. I know what you must be thinking, damn vegan hippie. Don't worry, I'm still a 'normal' person, though I believe every one does care about these issues at some level. So you and I, we've got something in common!

If I had all the money in the world, and I've travelled all around the world, bought all the things I wanted, and I'm thinking what's next? I think I would like to help alleviate the suffering of both human and non-human beings. And I've decided that that is my life's purpose. I hope to get into research in conservation and management, and find a solution to our problems from nature. That's what's deep ecology is about. Nature already has a solution to all our problems, we just have to learn from her!

Anyway, I'm always up for something fun and exciting to do! And I love sports, I played softball for 6 years, but now I'm into cycling, Ultimate frisbee, and MMA. I aspire to be really fit and comfortable on the bicycle, and be able to travel as much as possible by bicycle, and that means traveling bringing a bicycle every where I go! Feels great to burn fat not oil!

PHILOSOPHY To live in the moment, and to live every day with my life purpose in mind.

Attitude of gratitude

Carb the fuck up

Garden the fuck up

Be open and tolerant. Always put yourself in the other person's shoes first.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

Because it makes traveling so much more special and meaningful!

Interests

plant-based diet, veganism, muay thai, mixed martial arts, jeet kune do, ultimate frisbee, cycling, cycle-touring, bikepacking, photography, capoeira, softball, food, tv, movies, art, language, travel, sky diving, scuba diving, environment, organic, farming, animals, diy, music, traveling, sustainability, minimalism

Music, Movies & Books

Books: the freedom manifesto, harry potter, the alchemist, the hunger games, the starch solution, the food revolution, whole

Movies: Princess Mononoke, The Hunger Games, Rent,

Music: Electronic, deep house, chill house, but really I can have favourite songs from almost any genre except maybe metal, haha.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

helping a family build a home.

lived on Kanowna Island for 3 weeks without showers, and just watching seals every day.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Good company, some interesting stories, a listening ear, delicious vegan meals?

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Japan, Korea, Republic of, Malaysia, Philippines, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Dahlia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile