April Jakubec's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see April’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • student..yet again :)
  • MSc
  • From Arkansas, USA
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To do the most good in the world, always finding ways to be kind to others-- little things, like passing on my weekly transit pass when I won't need it for the rest of the week, hanging out an hour longer in the park to hear the homeless man's story (human contact can help restore dignity), or baking gourmet cupcakes for co-workers on just another average day.

ABOUT ME

I am 27 years old and have lived far too much of my life in Arkansas, USA (it is beautiful, in fairness); I broke out of there to pursue my MSc in Social Equality in Ireland and landed back in Boston on a whim. I just recently got accepted to my dream PhD program at UMass Boston in human rights for adults with mental illness, my passion. I love thrift shopping, writing (especially old-fashioned letters!), drinking way too much tea, sleeping in, baking, and doing paper crafts. I have a lovely boyfriend, and a fat kitty named Tomato at home in Boston, but secretly, my mind is always overseas...

PHILOSOPHY

Give until if you gave anymore, you'd be in a worse position than the person you're helping; financially, of course.. but also with emotions, time, etc. (Perhaps you'd be interested to read Peter Singer's thoughts on the subject)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I dream about the day I have a humble space with a corner to offer up to fellow travelers, but for now I'm just looking for a uniquely genuine experience in new corners of the world.

Interests

I love traveling, studying, & meeting new people. In my spare time I enjoy reading, writing, laughing too much, planning forthcoming trips, drinking cheap wine and too much tea, loving on my kitty & eating dark chocolate.. but now there is some pressure to start learning French!

  • writing
  • human rights
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • baking
  • drinking
  • crafts
  • shopping
  • thrifting
  • reading
  • traveling
  • backpacking
  • law
  • mathematics

Music, Movies, and Books

Grew up without a TV, so hard to say on movies. I do love to read- especially historical fictions! Folk music has my heart.. favoritism is reserved for Simon and Garfunkel..and perhaps Regina Spektor too :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'd have to say that the best time of my life was a 6-week solo backpacking trip across 8 different countries. I am non-directional, somewhat timid, and there is no way I should have survived that trip, but I met great new friends and had the highest highs and lowest lows of my life!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to preach equality, but glad to help with practicing English.. and I'm down for editing papers or math homework if need be.
I'm on a mission for French fluency by the end of my PhD program (3-5 years). I'm just at a very, very basic level at this point (about 2 weeks in to my studies).. advice and practice welcomed graciously.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happy to share laughs, stories, advice (I've taken on the role of my family's counselor), I'm not too bad at hair cuts either.. if you need something, just ask!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see April’s full profile. It’s free!