Logo orange

Louis Lazure

Granby, Quebec, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Louis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Biologist
  • Masters Biology
  • From Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Québec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Quiet guy. Down to earth. Curious. Love to learn. French-Canadian (Quebecois). Like being active. Ecologist. And apparently, can't write full sentences.

Gens de Granby qui visitent mon profil, j'ai remarqué qu'il n'y avait pas de "communauté" proprement dit en ville. Mais j'ai quelques expériences de CouchSurfing et je serais interessé d'en parler avec vous ou de vous y initier!

PHILOSOPHY

Respect every people we interact with and the environment.

Let me also put an excerpt from Charles Darwin's Voyage of the Beagle, perfectly suited to CouchSurfing:
"But I have too deeply enjoyed the voyage, not to recommend any naturalist [...] to take all chances, and to start, on travels by land if possible, if otherwise on a long voyage. He may feel assured he will meet with no difficulties or dangers, excepting in rare cases, nearly so bad as he beforehand anticipated. In a moral point of view, the effect ought to be, to teach him good-humoured patience, freedom from selfishness, the habit of acting for himself, and of making the best of every occurence. [...] Travelling ought also to teach him distrust; but at the same time he will discover, how many truly kind-hearted people there are, with whom he never before had, or ever again will have any further communication, who yet are already to offer him the most disinterested assistance."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Convincing people around me that CS is a valid and great travelling option.
Replying promptly to every message I received, even if it's in the negative.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed, hosted, met for drinks.

NOTE ON NEW CHANGES

Really really annoyed and frustrated about the changes on this site. I do not like the new version, particularly after using it for a while. The original site did not need improvements. I also spent time and care in building my profile and a lot of features disappeared with the most recent changes. Stop it. Please.

Interests

Ecology, conservation, environment, zoology, bats, travel, food, good beer, actuality/news, sport (do/watch), running/triathlon, languages, politics, geography, science, laugh, music, etc.

Music, Movies & Books

I'll just write a few for each.Movies : Green Street Hooligans, Napoleon Dynamite, Cidade de Deus, Le Huitième Jour, Låt den räte komma in, Team America World Police, Gran Torino, Midnight in Paris, Saving Private Ryan, Persepolis, La Grande Séduction, Tu cours pour rien Nelson, Die fetten Jahre sind vorbeiMusic : Kings of Convenience, Metric, Millencolin, Coldplay, Louise Attaque, Wir sind Helden, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Tegan and Sara, Cowboys Fringants, Malajube, We Are Wolves, The Beatles, Oasis, Ladytron, Franz Ferdinand, Zero 7, Les Trois Accords, The Do, Bob Marley, Seu Jorge, Rihanna, Tiken Jah FakolyBooks : Jurassic Park (M. Crichton), Saga (T. Benacquista), Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling), Lapinot (L. Trondheim), Messieurs les enfants (D. Pennac), La guerre des boutons (L. Pergaud), L'homme rapaillé (G. Miron), L'écume des jours (B. Vian), Le Comte de Monte-Cristo (A. Dumas)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

(Why only one?)- Getting to the top of Mt. Triglav (2864 m) in Slovenia.- A week of Carnaval crazyness in Recife and Olinda, Brazil.- Skydiving. SO intense!- Working in the wild jungle, cut from the outside world, in West Africa.- Going in bat caves.- Running a marathon.-Climbing the active volcano Papandayan (and having a picnic at the top)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can be your resource in:
- Ecology, Zoology, Bats: what I studied and work on
- French: mother tongue
- Québec, Canada: where I come from

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Indonesia, Morocco, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Côte d'Ivoire, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Louis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile