Art Birkmeyer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Art’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 72, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Navy vet - Pilot/Air traffic Control then 35+ years to re...
  • Formal - MS-Paul Smiths College, NY, BS - Forestry U of I...
  • From Born & raised in Hillsdale, NY, migrated out west for 35+ yrs.
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

As a retired person getting up in years I would like to pursue adventures by bicycle touring and back packing as much as I can for as long as I can.

ABOUT ME

In summary I’m an older retired guy in good physical condition that really enjoys outdoor physical traveling/sightseeing adventures. I worked/studied for all my life. I like to meet people and I try to keep myself visually and physically presentable. I own NO tie dye but at times wish that I did. I can easily be called boringly and predictable. I've been called a minimalist by a number of my friends.
Some details.
I’m a 65+ year old retiree with a wife of 40+ years 5 children and one grand child. All of our children are out of the house living independently and are self supporting. Two are married and one has a daughter who is our one and only grand daughter who is a real doll.

I have been pursued outdoor adventures since my childhood in northern NJ where I was raised. I have been fortunate to have been able to experience years of outdoor adventures and be a part of the old big timber years in the NW.

A simplified summation of my outdoor adventures follows if you’re interested.
I have backpacking/camping/climbing experience in the summer and winter in the follow US areas NE., SE. and NW. in the US. I’ve climbed all the NW major peaks having summated most of them more then once. I have been fortunate to have been able to experience extended (2 – 3 wks) backpack trips into the NP and wilderness areas of the NW (WA. OR., MT., ID.). Many trips were solo.
I started riding a bicycle in the late 80’s when I could no longer run for exercise. Over the years I have participated in over 15 STP rides and numerous supported rides (Cycle Or- 6, Scenic Cycling- 6, Tim Kneeland- 3). Self supported rides have been all over the NW and BC. I have also been fortunate to have ridden the Adventure Cycling Routes across the US (Northern Tier & Trans America) and the West Coast N to S route. All rides have been 95% camping.

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live! Treat others as you would want to be treated. Respect others at all times. Don't assume anything! Try not to be impulsive or judgmental or stereo type. Be vigilant and not stupid. Think things through. Boring often good.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I learned at an early age that if you wait around for somebody to do something with you probably won’t get to do it. This has caused me to pursue many outdoor adventures solo (backpack trips/cycle touring trips/mountain climbs etc.).
One of my favorite sayings is that "I can’t find anyone stupid enough to do it with me"! So I go alone!
I really enjoy meeting people and most group activities but apparently can, at times, be very strong minded, self sufficient and self directed.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

10+ years on host bicycle touring web site - Warm Showers. No experience with CouchSurfing! I've hosted many bicycle touring riders over the years passing through my area.

Interests

Bicycle touring, back packing, gardening, house repair/handyman work, reading, traveling

  • exercise
  • running
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • tours
  • sightseeing
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

What I don't like - Hip Hop, Rap, Opera.
Like Classic Rock & easy listening.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Navy Tail Hook member - drove airplanes for the US Navy (helos, single engine and multi-engined props and a jet here and there).
Witnessed Mt. St. Helens explode and witnessed the effects (worked in and backpacked the back country blast area soon after eruption).
Backpacker in the Adirondack Mtns, the White Mtns, and the Smokies.
Canoed/camped the swamps of Florida before it was popular & trailed.
Worked in the timber industry (log yards & sawmills) for 35+ years in the big NW timber in & around the Longview, WA area.
Climbed in summer & winter - Mt. Rainier, Mt. St. Helens (before), Mt. Adams, Mt. Hood, and Mt. Jefferson.
Skied and snow shoed stayed in snow caves.
Extended low impact backpack trips into numerous Nat. Parks and Wilderness areas in WA, OR and Idaho. Probably 90+ days.
Completed ACA (Adventure Cycling Ass.) self-supported two cross country bicycle trips (Northern Tier & Trans America) plus Pacific Coast Route and 15+ organized bicycle tours all around the NW.
Visited Europe, Caribbean, Mexico, and South America.

Teach, Learn, Share

As an older guy I have a fair amount of experience where myself or others did things right and wrong. Years of outdoor adventures have put a fair amount of opinion on the do's and don't that I'm happy to pass on for consideration if anyone wants or cares to listen. Not that I do things all right but at least I can say why I do it the way I do it. I've learned but I'm stll learning.

Join Couchsurfing to see Art’s full profile. It’s free!