Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Asier’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 124 References 84 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Basque, English, French, Spanish; learning Finnish, Japanese, Occitan, Russian
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Language teacher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Becoming a linguist


I had a pretty normal life in Bilbao, but I decided to break up with everything and travel around Europe and especially Asia for almost 2 years.
Now I'm back where I started, in Bilbao, and trying to find a new way for my life.

Here you can watch two videos that somehow summarise the experience of my Eurasian trip in 2011-2012:

I'm trying to promote BeWelcome as an ethical alternative to Couchsurfing, you could also find me there:


I believe that things are always flowing and we must find our own way in this stream, sometimes against it but always with a keen perception on the hints that we are provided.
I don't believe we are central to anything, only pebbles in a huge river, moving along like everything else.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I became a member of Couchsurfing some years ago when it was a non profit organization (until 2011), and I hosted travellers in Bilbao continuosly for 4 years in the Old Town of Bilbao where I used to live.
In summer it was pretty busy and hosted people almost everyday from June to October, and some times I hosted as much as 8 people at the same time.

I have also been hosted in several trips in Europe and Asia, notably in Lithuania, Finland, Ireland, England, France, Germany, Greece, South Korea, Japan and Kazakhstan.


It has always been a positive experience for me, meeting people from so many different cultural backgrounds and life stories enriched me as a person, and most probably pushed me into changing my own life.

But I think that Couchsurfing has lost the original spirit, so now I promote BeWelcome as a real alternative, you can find me there:


I like languages, learning things from different cultures, walking around cities and also nature. I love folk (celtic) music, metal, medieval, early and baroque music.

  • culture
  • books
  • singing
  • walking
  • shopping
  • politics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • history
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Dersu Uzala, Enemy At the Gates, Into The Wild, The Last Emperor, Mongol, Cloud Atlas, Dolls, Hero (Ying Xiong) (to list just a few).

Folk music in general. Lately I've been experiencing a growing interest in Balkan, Turkic and Persian influenced styles.

The Brothers Karamazov, A Tale of Two Cities, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Midnight's Children, Shalimar the Clown, 1984, Burmese Days, The Napoleon of Notting Hill, The Mayor of Casterbridge, The Odyssey, The Ramayana, American Gods (to name just a few that I've read recently).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Waking up at 5:00 a.m. in front of the magnificent snow capped mountains of Shiretoko (Hokkaido island, Japan), after spending a cold spring night outdoors inside my sleeping bag.

Arriving to the valley of Amarbayasgalant in northern Mongolia and setting my eyes for the first time upon its Tibetan styled monastery.

Entering a shop in Kashgar (East Turkestan) and listening to a guy seated in a corner improvising an Uyghur tune on the dutar and singing to it.

Exiting the train station of Almaty (Kazakhstan) for the first time.

Crossing the border between Georgia and Turkey and walking along the road in those Eastern Highlands.

Bathing in the icy waters of the Ganges in Rishikesh (Uttarakhand, India) not so far from the Himalayas.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach about the Basque Country (language, history, culture, politics, mythology), Celtic Europe and Japan.

I would like to learn more about Russia and Russian language, the same about Turkey and Turkish and Iran/Persian. Central Asia interests me much too.

I can share all my books with anybody, my travelling experiences and my traditional music playing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Japan, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    12 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Asier’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups