Logo orange

Will Doenlen

San Francisco, CA, USA

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 26 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • insatiable learner
  • school of life
  • From Pensacola, FL
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Some facts about me:

* Life to me is about optimizing for adventure and interestingness rather than climbing the ranks of some corporate ladder. I quit my job as a software engineer a couple of months ago and haven't looked back since. In the meantime, I've been traveling lots and studying value investing.

* Art is deeply important to me. I love being involved in big art projects with other people, especially performance art projects.

* I do Muay Thai (aka Thai kickboxing) as a sport.

* I love foreign languages! Seriously, learning little phrases and words of languages makes me super happy. I especially love speaking, and the way words form in your mouth, and all the different sounds people can make.

* I'm a naturally curious person and like to explore everything I can. This manifests itself in a lot of different ways--specifically, when I travel, I like to go off the beaten path to places that people don't normally go to, or I like to seek out interesting new experiences.

----------
A little about my philosophy with traveling:

* As a traveller, I'm not too big into sight-seeing. I'm really interested in the culture and language of wherever I'm going, which means I get most of the pleasure of traveling out of just talking to people.

* I like to be helpful/useful wherever I go. If you're working on some kind of project, I'm usually happy to help -- and would really appreciate being allowed to!

* As a host, I'm big into hospitality. A lot of times I cannot host since I am busy, but if you do come and stay with me, I will see to it that you're comfortable and that you have a good time!

* I strongly believe that CouchSurfing is NOT a dating site. The thought of taking advantage of someone's trust and hospitality is disgusting to me. If you ever host with me, or if I ever surf with you, you have my word that you will be safe.

----------
My profile photo is from an Instructable I wrote called "Heighten Your Anxiety with a Mirror at the Bottom of Your Coffee Cup": http://www.instructables.com/id/Heighten-your-anxiety-with-a-mirror-at-the-bottom-/ And don't worry, it's a joke :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

Been on CS for a long time now -- why would I stop? ;) I've had a lot of amazing experiences thanks to CouchSurfing! I love exploring new things through the fantastic people I meet on this site.

Interests

language, foreign languages, tech, art, DIY

Music, Movies & Books

Oh man, so many! I'll get around to filling this out someday... regardless, I'm very open to new music, movies, and books.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I built a human-sized hamster wheel standing desk with a friend at my previous job at Instructables. (http://www.instructables.com/id/Hamster-Wheel-Standing-Desk/), which went super viral. Almost overnight I found my face on websites, magazines, and newspapers all across the globe, which was bizarre to say the least. My friend and I's creation was even the answer to a limerick on NPR's Wait Wait... Don't Tell Me! which was pretty rad. We ended up going on a daytime television talk show in LA, which was a beautiful capstone to our experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love for people who speak different languages to teach me phrases in their language! Especially local dialects and minor languages -- I love to hear all the variations in a language family.

I'm also learning to draw right now, so if you want to practice drawing with me I'd be super down!

What I Can Share With Hosts

Tech/website/programming help, if you need it. A personal lesson in Muay Thai. Great traveling stories. And, of course, lots of gratitude :D

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, France, Germany, Japan, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

China, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Will's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile