Cass Siew Qian Wei

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cass Siew’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Indonesian, Malay; learning Japanese, Korean, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • i try not to work, it's not good for my health
  • by life and travel, small talks and deep conversations. A...
  • From Sepang, Selangor, Malaysia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Pick up hitchhikers, shower them, feed them, give them shelters and friendship! :)


I speak Travelling. As in those dusty, passionate, lazy, exciting, curious, slow, unplanned, engraved, risky wanders. Non-rebellious non-conformist. Hitchhiking addict. Recovering country girl. Real. Stray off, laugh, weep, forgive - in suspiciously sensible order.

When my curiosity finally outgrew my fear of unknown, I stepped out and clashed head on with the beauty and mind boggling surprises this world has to offer, my travel turned into an irreversible avalanche.... I lived in Malaysia until 2009 when I left to see the world from a different angle.

Currently i am floating in Brisbane, working part time, learning to self employ and find a way to sustain my living and save money by various way (translation: I have no stable jobs), planning my way to become a full time nomad in the near future, very soon, hopefully.

I am a good listener and I love stories. Very often the people I met in the journey (travel buddies, hosts or random people) have become my real life friends.

I like sightseeing but not all the time. My main interest in the journey is to blend in and try to camouflage into a local. I am happy if I can hold a simple conversation with locals in their language which I newly, eagerly and brokenly learnt. I am contented when I have the privilege to see or join the local life, even a small thing such as sleeping on a Japanese futon and tatami and get to attend loatian birthday party, or play a regular sports or card game. Also I hitched and hobo around Japan (sleeping in parks, toilets, etc).

Hence my interest in travel goes like this:
Spending time with hosts/locals/travellers > learning new hobbies> staring blankly (read bumming) > exploring neighbourhood and talk to random locals > read a book and watch the sunset > sightseeing.

I have a huge phobia to frogs and smart asses. I tend to avoid confrontations, especially pushy and condescending people. I do drink in certain social settings.

I was raised in a traditional Protestant Christian family, but lately i have been learning a lot more about Pentecostal, love and related spiritual experiences. I am well-awared that everyone comes from different background and has different beliefs, and it's especially sensitive to some people hence i don't usually bring this topic up in conversations unless someone asked. :)

In general, I describe myself as an outgoing introvert. If you want to know more about my personality, come and spend some time with me. ;)

See my facebook page for my travels:


The less your mind revolve around yourself, the more beautiful a person you are.
Gentleness is learning to love someone that you think is hard to love.
Strangers are not scary, they are just a hello and a smile away.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Pay it forward to make the world a better place, one couch at a time, and one ride at a time.


I've been hosted by good hosts and they made me love couchsurfing more and now even addicted to it! I'll couchsurf until the end of my life. I'll probably still surf my neighbours' couch when I become too old to walk. XD


I have wide interests, basically I would like to try anything if given the chance. Some of the things I have done are skydiving, scuba diving, surfing, slacklining, snowboarding and skiing. But currently Salsa dancing, windsurfing, surfing, motorbiking, busking are high up in my to-learn list.

Sports i can play: table tennis
Sports i like to think i can play: basketball and badminton
Sports i like to try: any sports you play that's within human abilities (not sure if free wrestling counts)

Instruments i can play: piano
Instrument i can make some sound with: drums and guitar
Instruments i like to learn: anything you play, or pretend to play

I enjoy outdoors like wild camping, hiking, or just sleeping under the stars on a beach.

I have a blog, I wrote mainly in Mandarin Chinese, but I've started writing a bit in English too so you can follow up on my journey or daily life. Go to

Music, Movies, and Books

I like reading, fiction and non-fiction, and enjoy reading as well as movies.
Not tv and celebrities though. I don't understand it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There's trust and genuine connection between strangers in this world, it's amazing! Love conquers all.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can share travel experiences though I'm still accumulating. If you're a beginner, I can teach you piano, and languages that I speak.

Any other things that you can teach me, I genuinely love learning, doesn't matter if it seems useful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, China, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Malaysia

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Cass Siew’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups