Mel Rayburn's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 45 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Wanderer, adventure seeker, risk taker
  • International Development and Geography
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I try to live according to the simple philosophy that you create the life you want. I'm driven by high energy and passion. I think travel is just about the best thing in life. I always try to live each day to the fullest, and to walk away with no regrets. After all, there's no day like today :)

I've spent the majority of the past 7 years travelling throughout Asia, Australia, West and East Africa, Europe, and the Americas, along with some time spent living on the west coast of Canada.

I'm currently travelling and volunteering in South America, and am interested in opportunities for personal growth, to give back and to learn more about the cultures and environment while I'm here.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm very interested in alternative forms of travel and learning, collaboration and communities of like-minded individuals. Couchsurfing is such a great way to meet new people and get to see a part of the world from a local's perspective. I've surfed at people's homes on 6 continents, have met up with local CSers for drinks/hikes/hitchhiking adventures/etc, and have hosted a few people during my time living in Canada as well.

Interests

Laughing uncontrollably, random adventures, globe trotting, hammocks in the sun, photography, orange sherbert ice cream, starry night skies, postcards from afar, bonfires and guitars, all day breakfast diners, spending as much time in nature as possible, snowboarding in fresh powder, road trips with friends, swimming in the rain, setting suns, long bike rides, hiking in the mountains, and going barefoot.

  • photography
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • road trips
  • mindfulness

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Xavier Rudd, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, The Head and the Heart, The Lumineers, Bon Iver, Sigur Ros, Dan Mangan, Frightened Rabbit, The National, Tallest Man on Earth, Vance Joy, Ingrid Michaelson

Movies: Wes Anderson films, Amelie, Shawshank Redemption, Baraka, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 500 Days of Summer, The Life Aquatic, Human Planet

Books: Into the Wild, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Fall on your Knees, The Poisonwood Bible, Wild, Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going on a three-week solo camino throughout Portugal and Spain, followed by another 400 kilometres of hiking the coastline of Turkey during some of the hottest months of the year, and a few months later sailing as a crew of 4 people across the Atlantic Ocean

Teach, Learn, Share

As a friend from my recent travels has said - "I can teach from my experience, learn from yours, and share my time and a good smile." :)

"Because in the end, you won't remember the time you spent working in the office or mowing your lawn. So go climb that goddamn mountain." - Kerouac

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation and (attempts at, at least!) good food, outdoor adventures, yoga classes (I'm a teacher), friendship and hemp bracelet-making skills, a curious mind and a passion for life and the world around me 😊

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Ghana, Kenya, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups