Bart Driessen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bart’s full profile.

Overview

  • 20 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • CTO
  • Started with a lot of things, finished none.
  • From Schoonhoven, South Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I used to work as a graphic designer, and had a studio of 5 people. I stopped it as I didn’t want to work in the same field for all my life.
I worked in a refugee camp in Greece for about a year in total. After that I workied in a company that aims to bring solar power to rural Africa - electricity is key for development and income. Now I'm a CTO in a small firm that works on reducing damage caused by construction work.

I used to live in Rotterdam for many years, now I live in Schiedam, which is almost a part of Rotterdam. At least its only 10-15 min to the Rotterdam city center.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have place for a traveller on my couch, so let me know if you want to stay. Meeting international travellers gives me a sense of traveling, without leaving my region! And since then I started also to surf couches myself, especially when i travel alone. A great way to meet great people!

I have build up quite some knowledge about Rotterdam and region and I love doing walking tours of Rotterdam. If you feel like it, contact me and I can show you around :)

I'm a flexible guy and I like meeting you! And also I'm happy if I can help you out with my couch.

I receive a lot of requests from people that are desperately seeking a place to live. While I totally understand how urgent your needs are, I will not accept your request.

Interests

I like both to cook and to eat out.
i like cycling, scuba diving, skiing, snowboarding.
Concerts (everything: funk, jazz, classical, chansons, techno), theater, opera. And love the better techno clubs, preferably in Berlin (but Perron in Rotterdam is great too!)
Travelling (been to Africa a lot of times, been to Lebanon and Iran and I want to see more of Asia. And I am doing my best to check off all countries in Europe, only a few left).

  • arts
  • culture
  • design
  • graphic design
  • contemporary art
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • road trips
  • food
  • africa
  • techno music
  • techno
  • solar energy
  • management
  • refugees
  • design thinking
  • leadership
  • rural development

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: So much, from techno, folk, jazz, pop to opera.
Movies: art house, French, Italian
Books: literature and poetry, merely Dutch.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I drove a car from Amsterdam to Timbouctou, Mali, with a friend. We travelled about four weeks, through the Sahara. Upon arrival we sold the car, travelled to Bamako by bus and flew back home.

Teach, Learn, Share

Every day I learn about people, about live. Especially when traveling. And also by meeting international people. I can learn you about cooking, traveling, designing, management, coding, Rotterdam and about live in general. I would love to learn to speak Arabic.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've a couch (which is actually quite good to sleep on) in the living room. I am happy to meet travellers of all kinds, ages, countries, preferences etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Kenya, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, India, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Bart’s full profile.

My Groups