Eelco Aartsen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eelco’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 62 References 57 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Spanish
  • 50, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • IT consultants (Java developer & Testing expert)
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PLEASE READ BEFORE DOING A REQUEST:

-Show interest in the Zaanregion
We understand that Amsterdam is interesting, but if you only want to visit Amsterdam, please find a host in Amsterdam. Showing some interest in the Zaanregion in your request gives you a higher change to be accepted. There is plenty to do and see here, see my favorites https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/baseneelco/favorites

-Our house is not a free hotel.
We like to actually get to know our guests by spending some time with them. That can be a drink together somewhere, a home made dinner or a tour through city or nature. If you just want somewhere to sleep and have no interest in getting to know your host, we are not the right host for you.

-If you are traveling with a friend, who wants to couchsurf with you, they should have a profile on Couchsurfing too. No profile = no couch.

- There is no spare key, so when we have other obligations outdoor we expect you to entertain yourself in the city during that time. You cannot stay inside when we are out. And sometimes we have to leave the house really early, so be aware ;-)

TIMING OF YOUR REQUEST
Requests for one or two weeks ahead have a higher change of being accepted than further away, since we don't like to plan our life to far ahead ourselves.

ABOUT US
We're a Dutch couple, living in the center of Zaandam, a town very near Amsterdam. We like life and travel. In 1990 Eelco traveled through Africa by car with 2 friends. Bas traveled through Australia a year later. From 2004 till 2007 we traveled together through Latin America. See on our website (www.baseneelco.nl) and google plus (http://plus.google.com/+EelcoAartsen) for more about these travels.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We like to host now and then. Due to our location very near Amsterdam we get a lot of requests. We could host every day if we wanted. That is why we have a 'Maybe' as status. We surf as well, we did that twice now in our own country, combining hiking and couchsurfing, see also our story on http://www.couchsurfing.org/news/article/127

Interests

Travelling (the world and holland), sailing (just started), IT, volunteering for local events and our communal garden (www.monettuin.nl), visiting our local pub....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Crossing the Atlantic Ocean with SV Tres Hombres

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Rwanda, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Togo, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Eelco’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups