Logo orange

Björn Gelhorn

Witten, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Björn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 22 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Checking out South America in Jan un...
  • A-Levels, bank-traineeship, B.Sc. In...
  • From Witten, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Update (12/14): new working contract for a consutling company for March 2015. That's why I want to use the gap to go abroad to South America!

ABOUT ME

5,90feet tall, ash blond hair, sunny boy, wearing glasses or contact lenses :)

When you read my references you will recognize that many people say about me that I am very cheerful person and that's why I am 'always' smiling.

I think in most cases that is true but I would also say this criterion especially fits when I am hanging out with other people. I like to meet and get to know new people,where they come from, what their culture is and all that stuff. I really enjoy traveling and exploring the differences between my country and your culture.

Besides the smiling face there is also a Bjoern who can very doubtful, critic and sometimes also 'sensitive'. But it is not difficult to get me out of this mood, I promise :) Just give me a simple reason to smile and you will see that I am living on the sunny site!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I registered in 2008 but I have really started to use Couchsurfing before I went on my trip to America in May,2010.

I always wanted to do Couchsurfing and that was the perfect situation for doing it.

So finally my internship in America got me to fill my profile and sent some requests to people in Atlanta, Georgia. --------------------------------

Every time I met people who didn't know anything about Couchsurfing (mostly on my holidays) I explain them how wonderful the idea of couchsurfing is and that they should try it!

I also offer my couch for surfers but unfortunately I am living in a small unknown town nobody wants to see. But I am doing my best to make it more interesting :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since I've been in America (Summer 2010) I surfed with several people and co-hosted ca. 6 people at my apartment in Atlanta. It turned out very well and Atlanta's Couchsurfers became my friends :)

(I hope I see you all again - Fabrice, Michael, Halef, Vince, Rastko, Monali, Shreenath, Olivia, Sabrina, Ben, Remo, Turkey, Devarsh)

Interests

Every kind of sport (esp. skiing, surfing, soccer, running ---> check out EOFT if you don't know it: http://www.eoft.eu/?ref)

Tried to train for triathlon but had not the time to fulfil this little dream. So you see, race-bike, running shoes and swimming are good companions in my life.

Music, Movies & Books

The last years every Sunday I met my friends for a movie-evening, I think we watched over 60 movies, so far. It's a pitty that we are not able to go on with it!

Although I am a very slow reader I try my best to finish as much books as possible. I do not prefer any special type. Also books with no real message are welcome - if they are just fun and you can relax for some hours, why not! :)

Next book on the shelve: Freakonomics!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

2008 I successfully participated in the Berlin Marathon. To run a race with 50,000 other participants was really impressive.

During my highschool-time I traveled to South Africa and stayed 3weeks in Pretoria to support an aid project. To see the gap between rich and poor, the differences between their and my culture which cause often a lot of troubles and the problem of AIDS shocked and showed me that 'WE' should never complain about our wonderful lives! There is no reason for it!

Sept'12 I crossed the Alps from Oberstdorf (GER) to Meran (ITA). - Hiking

Oct'13 3 Countries Marathon Bodensee

Sept'14 Crossed the Dolomites - Alta Via No. 1 - Braies to Belluno - Hiking

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Björn's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile