Ben Martin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • No languages listed
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Student
  • I've just finished studying at University, and am doing p...
  • From My hometown is Teignmouth in South Devon.
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My current mission is to become a lawyer, and travel the world in my time off.

ABOUT ME

I grew up in the South West of England, and moved away to Bristol for University. I decided to study Philosophy and Politics, as I thought that would give me a pretty good grounding in understanding what is going on in the world. Although I learnt a lot, after three years studying I think I was more confused than when I started! Since I left Uni in 2012, I've been studying law. It was a tough year, and as such I decided to do some travelling in one of my last long summer holidays, I decided that I should travel the world a bit more, and meet new people from different places. This is pretty much the main reason I joined couchsurfing.

When I'm not studying I like to do all the usual things, going out with my friends, playing sports (I used to box quite a bit, and go to the gym), and enjoy a bit of football as well. I also play guitar and am looking to really get back into it this year (hopefully I will have time!) and maybe get back into playing in a band.

PHILOSOPHY

Work hard, and be nice to people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As I don't have my own place yet, I think that in the near future I can only really surf. Everyone who I have spoken to has spoken very positively about couchsurfing, so I think that when I move out of my parents house, I'd like to return the favour!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm looking for my first one!

Interests

I'm interested in sport (more playing rather than watching, but I enjoy both), reading, learning about different peoples/cultures/religions - essentially anything different from my own life.

I like to do things which are good fun, but also help me to develop or help others. As a result I try not to spend too much time on games consoles (though I do sometimes get drawn in by Mario Kart or FIFA).

Essentially, I would say I am 'interested' in giving new things a try and seeing if I like them...

  • festivals
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • sports
  • boxing
  • soccer
  • world cup
  • law
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

My all time favourite film is Scarface, mainly because of Al Pacino's acting. I seem to spend most of my time reading, but not always things I want to read (i.e I usually read text books) - though I read a really great book about the Arab Spring recently, and next on my list is a stack of Bill Bryson books recommended by my Dad.

It's always tricky to discuss music tastes, but I like a lot of music, not necessarily from any particular genre. I'd like to say that I like music which people have put a bit of thought into, but sometimes poppy chart songs cannot be beaten.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw Radiohead play at Reading Festival a few years ago, that was pretty special.

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile. It’s free!