Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 111 References 64 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Indonesian, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Providing assistive technology services to US Veterans
  • BS Mechanical Engineering & MS Rehab Engineering
  • From Pontianak, West Kalimantan, Indonesia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Grew up in Indonesia where my parents were missionaries. My dad was a bush pilot flying into villages in the jungle to bring supplies to the missionaries and such. It was an awesome place to grow up and gave me a hunger to see more of the world. Moved back to a farm in Virginia where I lived for 10 years before moving to Pittsburgh to get a Masters in Rehabilitation Engineering. I've now moved to Albuquerque where I'm working with US Veterans to provide them with the right assistive technology to live independent lives again.


You're not supposed to die with your potential. A life well lived squeezes out all the potential placed within and does something with it. Erwin McManus

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Over the years, I've hosted surfers from:
USA - 54...........Brazil - 2...........India - 1
France - 6.........Germany - 3..........Canada - 2
Austria - 1........Spain - 1............Israel - 1
Switzerland - 2....Puerto Rico - 1......Russia - 4
China - 2..........Egypt - 1............Slovakia - 2
Australia - 1


AMAZING! Wonderful! Love it! CSers are the coolest people you'll ever meet. I got a great start in Pittsburgh and have begun developing the same community in Richmond and beyond. Everyone I've met and hosted has been great and my life is richer because of them.


Travel, Technology, Photography, Biking, Anything that flies, I love to fly when I get the chance and someday I want my pilot's license. I like being outdoors just taking in the scenery. Sitting on a bench and watching the world pass by sometimes. I love hearing life stories and getting into long discussions that meander all over the place.

  • animals
  • photography
  • cooking
  • flying
  • flowers
  • technology
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • engineering

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: (In no particular order)
Apocalyptica, Kayleigh Leith, Cascada, Tiesto, Bob Marley, Bon Jovi, George Strait, Linkin Park, Nickelback, The Waifs, Nightwish, Within Temptation, The Beatles, Brooks & Dunn, Muse, Garth Brooks, bond, Escala, Vanessa-Mae, Afro Celt Sound System, Blue Man Group, Mannheim Steamroller, Trans-Siberian Orchestra, the David Mayfield parade ......

Local singer/songwriters I've met and seen live
Joy Ike, Boulevard of the Allies, Brooke Annibale
Washington, DC
Tiffany Thompson, Alex Vans
Peace Project
(working on this one)

The Pianist, Transformers, Resident Evil Series, Sahara, Boondock Saints, Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Star Wars Movies, Ocean's 11 & 13, Terminator films, Quantum Of Solace, Casino Royale, Batman Begins, Italian Job, The Abyss, Avatar, Batman (new ones), Indiana Jones, Wall-E, Shrek, Monsters Inc, Princess Bride......I like movies :-)

Biographies, Military Thrillers (Patrick Robinson & Tom Clancy), I'm getting back into reading for fun after finishing grad school (any suggestions?)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Got to see the Rafflesia Arnoldii (largest flower in the world) in bloom in the jungle of West Kalimantan (Borneo) near where I grew up.

Had both hip joints and both knee joints replaced with artificial titanium ones allowing me to walk again after 10 years in a wheelchair. Definitely gives you perspective.

Teach, Learn, Share

About the state of rehabilitative services around the world and the best way to improve them,
Sustainable farming with animals (And yes, Joel Salatin is my uncle),
How to drive an electric wheelchair,
How to ride a motorcycle,
How to ski,
How to talk to turkeys,
How to be a good Interstate highway driver in the USA (the principles might apply in other countries to),

Refresh my childhood Indonesian,
Continue learning Spanish,
How to cook a variety of dishes

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Haiti, India, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    13 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups