Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bernard’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 53 References 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Primary Teacher
  • Business & Law
  • From Longford, County Longford, Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Update March 2016: I will be in China during April and May, and in London/Ireland from June. x


I'm an Irish guy who enjoys travelling the world, teaching English and a little bit more travelling.

In '13, I travelled through India, North America & Taiwan before returning to Ireland for a few months. In '14, I toured the USA with an arts project - ALLEY ART - we hosted pop up art events in 14 different cities -

I just finished another year in Korea (Feb-15 to Feb-16) and will be moving to London this summer to begin a teacher training course in central London.

So... perhaps I can't host you, but message me anyway and I'll check my schedule.

I'm outgoing, positive, chatty and social.

I have some videos on Instagram of local beaches, delicious foods, & cute Korean dogs. All in glorious slomo:


"Learn to love and live, Live to love and learn, Love to live and learn."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I aim to show my guests a good time in my town, introduce them to some local food/places and culture. And to provide them with Korean facemasks, obviously.


All positive so far; I see CouchSurfing as an introduction to something I want to do in the future - open a B&B/hostel.


Very many:
music - movies - meeting people - challenging experiences - duvet days/sleeping - partying - travelling - getting out of my comfort zone - the weird part of YouTube - eating - sending postcards - watching a lot of Netflix

  • dogs
  • arts
  • culture
  • dining
  • breakfast
  • partying
  • technology
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • teaching
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I have a broad taste in films, and am particularly drawn to dark, depressing dramas. It's the ying to my yang. Favourites include: American Beauty, The Matrix, Magnolia, Eddie Scissorhands, Black Swan, Amelie, Tarantino movies and tonnes, tonnes more.
Last movies I loved: What We Do In the Shadows - Inside Out

TV Shows: As an English teacher in Korea, it is my duty to watch a lot of TV shows. Game of Thrones, True Detective, Inside Amy Schumer, Broad City, Wet Hot American Summer, Kimmy Schmidt, 30 Rock, Sense8, OITNB, X-Files, Homeland, RuPaul's Drag Race.

Music: Everything & anything goes here, from pop schmaltz to Marilyn Manson. Have a penchant for alt female singers (Fiona Apple, Aimee Mann) and movie soundtracks (classical or otherwise).
Currently addicted to HER soundtrack & Beach House & Grimes & Jamie XX.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Laos. Ziplining in the rainforest. Living in treehouses. Trying to find gibbons!

Was interviewed by the NYTimes for an article about Ireland:

Made a roadtrip video which was featured on the Huffington Post!

Road my shitty bike ~500km down the east coast of Korea, just for the lolz.

Helped to open a cafe in Taiwan!

Teach, Learn, Share

Skills I can teach you: How to speak some basic Irish - how to slalom on rollerblades - general computer/tech/phone advice

What I Can Share with Hosts

My bicycle - my rollerblades (size 11) - maybe a breakfast if I'm feeling generous - my movie/tv show collection - my chilled vibes - my music vibes

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Germany, Hungary, India, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Nepal, Panama, Philippines, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, Mexico, South Korea, Taiwan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bernard’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups