Sheldon West's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sheldon’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Banker
  • BA French & Russian
  • From Colchester, UK
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to learn Spanish and see as much of the world as I can!

ABOUT ME

Recently graduated from uni, starting work full-time in September and enjoying life in London. Chilled-out most of the time but also up for the odd crazy night-out. When I'm not out with friends having a beer I mostly enjoy playing ice-hockey, watching movies and trying to cook dishes from around the world.

PHILOSOPHY

You only regret the things you don't do. And even the sucky things can become good stories to laugh about later on!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Ever since my first trip abroad to Sweden when I was 16 I've been travelling non-stop. Now that I'm no longer a student and working I don't have quite so much time to travel, so I thought I'd start bringing some of the travelling to me! Even if my couch isn't always available, I'm always happy to show people the cool places I know around London and hopefully discover some new ones in the process.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet but I've stayed with a lot of friends-of-friends while abroad and also some people from MySpace and had a great experience each time. Had the pleasure to return the favour on several occasions too.

Interests

In addition to going out and meeting new people: cinema, guitar, painting, ice-hockey, mountain climbing, languages, travelling, cooking.

  • cooking
  • beer
  • walking
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • painting
  • guitar
  • rock climbing
  • hockey
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Massive cinema fan. Love too many films to list.

Music: trance, metal, classical, rock, rap.

Reading: Dostoevskii, Sartre, Kafka, Gogol, Pushkin, Chekhov.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hard choice between living abroad in 3 different countries and walking for two and a half days from Zakopane, Poland to Podbanske, Slovakia across the Tatry mountains.

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy to help people with their English (1000+ hours experience from when I worked in Prague!), Russian or French by just chatting over a couple of drinks. Always keen to meet up with other Russian and French speakers as well to brush up on my skills, not to mention Spanish as I have just started learning this language as well. As for sharing, I have travelled around almost every country in Eastern Europe so have lots of crazy stories from this region and ideas where you could go on your next holiday!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sheldon’s full profile. It’s free!