Francesco Baldi's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Francesco’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 26 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Swedish; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • "Putting my brain at the world's service"...too much of a...
  • Now I can say that, I have a PhD degree!
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Trying to find out my true potential, my true place in this complex world

ABOUT ME

It's not easy to write a self-descriptions in a few lines. Once a friend of mine told me that my brain is divide in three parts:
-sport
-Politics
-girls
Just to tell you that THIS IS NOT TRUE!! These things are important, but there is much more inside me! There is my love for traveling, my will to discover new cultures (I'm trying to get a knowledge in sociology all by myself). There is my large interest (maybe too large) in what I study...energetic engineering, I love it, I love energy things and physics, that allows me to understand the world around me. I think I'm easy to live with, but everybody says that, so there's no point in writing this (but I wrote it anyway lol).

Just for the record, I earned my PhD degree at Chalmers University of Technology in Goteborg in May 2016, and I am very proud of this! I am working on energy efficiency in shipping, making that I am getting to know ships more and more, and I really like this!

Currently, I am doing some sort of world trip, accelerated version

PHILOSOPHY

I like to be a world citizen. I will never forget my origins, but I want to feel at home anywhere. The objective of my life is to live the world better of the one I found at my arrival...and I'm trying to work that out, in my own humble way!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Finally I have my own place. Very small though (21 square meteres), but it works fine for me. I can host, but I keep my status on "maybe" since I am still not sure how often I am ready to do that. But...if you read this, you might give it a try!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

That is eventually starting to grow from "beginner" to "not so much beginner". I have hosted only once, but I surfed quite a few times, and aiming for more. The thing I enjoy the most ofcouchsurfing is the possibility to come in contact with people who live in the place you visit, because visiting only monuments is really nothing compared to the possibility to discover life and culture of a place too!

visited 31 states (13.7%)

Interests

Football
Computer
Science and technology
Sociology
History
listen to stories and adventures
Energy Technology
Shipping and...sailing! I have to start, but that's a promise, I WILL learn how to sail and start doing that!!

  • culture
  • writing
  • environment
  • politics
  • technology
  • traveling
  • sailing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • engineering
  • history
  • physics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
-Muse
-Radiohead
-Fabrizio de André
-Noir Desir

Film:
Memento
all of Miyazaki
Matrix
Lord of the Rings
La vita è bella
etc...

Books...I would say that it would be impossible to make a list. Last book I read are
- An edible history of humanity
- Last book of "A song of Ice and Fire"
- Man som hatar kvinorrna (Alias the girl with the dragon tatoo)
Even if I love reading and I read a lot of wonderful books, I have to choose one on the top of the ranking. And that is the "Foundation trilogy", by Isaac Asimov. Everytime I end up reading those books again I can't help falling in love with them!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I always wondered at this section. How can I only choose one?

So, I'll choose two:

- Earned a PhD degree. Might seem boring, but it took five years of pain. Well, it's not that bad, but I still am pretty proud I made it all the way to the end.

- Got to the crater of Ojos del Salado, the highest active volcano in the world, at 6750 m. That's the time I really reached my physical limit.

Teach, Learn, Share

The only thing I can really say to be expert in is what I study: Everything about energy! Of course with the objective to stop destroying the environment
For the rest....well, I've lived for 30 years until now, and I hope I did enough interesting for being able to teach something! But it's up to you to discover what! Anyway I am sure I still have way more to learn than to teach, but still I think that sharing my experience can be useful for anybody.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Everything! I am almost open to anything people want to do together! As long as it is not (too) dangerous . But to say something, here in Sion there are tons of hiking spots, so I can definitely share a hike in the mountains :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, French Polynesia, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Jordan, Mongolia, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Francesco’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups