Bobster Falvey

United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bobster’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Freelance Editor, Project Manager, Teacher, Graphic Desig...
  • Post-graduate
  • From Melbourne, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To explore, gain insight, and to make new friends.


I grew up in Melbourne, but thanks to having a couple of passports to my name, I landed in London a few years back deciding it was a good place to base myself whilst I reconnected with friends and family. I originally planned to be here for a couple of years, but that could stretch out for a few more years.

I'm quite a friendly, easygoing guy with a modicom of brains and wit —there have been witnesses! and I have been known to amuse and divert people in an entertaining sort of way.

I enjoy dining out, travelling, making new connections, going to see live performances (everything from music to theatre to dance) and a whole lot more. Whether that involves spending time with friends down the pub, live music, over dinner or chilling out. I also enjoy meeting up with fellow CSers to hang out with, chat with, etc (and the few I've spoken to and met seem rather nice).


If you're not making any mistakes then you're not taking enough risks.


"If it bends, it's funny. If it breaks, it's not funny.'
- Alan Alda, _Crimes and Misdemeanors_

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I organise and attend a variety of events, most outside of CS, but trying to include more people from within CS. As I house share, I generally prefer meeting up and showing people around London or the local environs; but have had people stay on rare occasions (preferably after I've met them).


I've been unofficially couchsurfing for the last several years in the states, Ireland and France, but Iceland (April 2009) was the first place I officially Couchsurfed. However, I attend quite a few events and have met lots of really cool people through CS, so I´m hoping I continue to meet more.

I've also hosted officially, and unofficially, other couchsurfers. Some of those are people who subsequently joined CS and others who were on here all the time — but had kept that a deep secret until I happened to mention it in conversation.


Food: I'm a slim gourmet — a foodie who likes to cook (and have been told, I do a rather good job, too) as well as eat. I like Asian, Italian, French, Modern European — a fusion of all these things which we do rather well in Melbourne.
Wine: Always good to accompany a meal or a friend with a glass in hand.

Music, Movies, and Books

A lot of classics (B/W and a few modern classics, you know the ones). The last film that I saw and really rated was Juno, but recently been watching a whole lot of comedy and Sci Fi (Iron Man II, Hell Boy II and Sherlock Holmes) again as an end of year treat with some students. Looking forward to Scott Pilgrim vs the world (it's directed by the guy who did Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz) and The Extra Man (which looks wrong and hilarious).

Far too much to fit on a standard iPod. I have a soft spot for indie (and currently an even softer-spot for Labrador record's stable of artists: Club 8, Radio Dept, Sambassadeur, etc), jazz, Funk, electronica, powerpop and '80s, '90s & '00s-music. Great albums from 2008/2009: Glasvegas (Hometapes), MGMT (Oracular Spectacular -- or whatever the title), Fleet Foxes (Fleet Foxes), The Pains of Being Pure At Heart (Self-Titled), The Hold Steady (Stay Positive), Bon Iver's 2008 release, the The Mummer's self-titled album, Beck's (Modern Guilt) and Kings of Leon's (Only By the Night). I have a real soft-spot for The Smiths, The Cure, early-REM, The Lucksmiths, New Order, Swedish indie Pop (Labrador records).

For 2012, 'The Agony and the Ecstasy' by High Contrast (and the stuff he and Underworld did on 'Isle of Wonder' and other bands on Hospital Records), a lot of Hed Kandy stuff, The XX 'Coexist', the Lund Quartet 'Lund Quartet', and a range of eclectic sounds.

A) Too many to mention. And to save me updating this every time I finish a book. As of January 2009: I plan to reread 'Midnight's Children' and also picked up 'Haroun and the Stories of the Sea'. Other favouites include Perfume (Süskind), 'The Unbearable Lightness of Being' (Kundera) and Terry Pratchett, Murakami, Tom Robbins, Jasper Fforde and Lawrence Block when I'm tired but want something easy and pulpish. I also subscribe to about three or four music magazines and read a lot of poetry.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It might be that I learnt to tie my shoes before I could walk — but my memory is vague and that may not be true.

I'm old enough to have been in Berlin just after the wall came down — yes, I did go through Checkpoint Charlie on several occasions (well, it was cheaper to eat in East Berlin than West Berlin). Looking forward to revisiting the place.

I've survived teaching in inner London schools for the last 11 years.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I actually am a teacher (ex-university lecturer), but in this context I suppose I'm happy and open to offer my expertise on either writing and editing, poetry, graphic design, PR, marketing and business consultation. I'm sure there's a lot more, but I don't really regard any of it as esoteric.

Learn: Open to lots of suggestions. I would like to improve my French — although, I tend to learn a few key phrases for where I'm travelling.

Share: ideas, thoughts, food, chocolate, wine, travel tips.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cabo Verde, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    16 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bobster’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups