Logo orange

Edith Viau

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Edith's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in French; learning English, German, Russian, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Math/Econ/Fin student
  • Bacc. Université du Québec à Montréal
  • From Montreal, Qc
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Expanding my summer job opportunities

ABOUT ME

MAY 2013 UPDATE :: Currently busy with school and work, I am considering travelling to Spain, California or Morocco at some point during the following year(s). Anyone who wants to practice its Spanish with me or language-trade for English or French is more than welcome to write me something :)

I didn't took the time to review the whole profile, but please message me if you are planning to visit Montreal for it is my hometown and I am dearly in love with it!

Some of my adventures are related on travel blogs. I am in the process of writing about my most recent adventure to Russia, and I am a bit proud of the following piece of writing :

http://thisrecording.com/today/2013/4/24/in-which-we-were-not-welcome-to-do-the-dishes.html

-------------------------

Making the switch to economics and finance for my Masters, I did my undergraduate studies in Pure Mathematics here in Montreal. Appart from doing lots of geometry and trying to make sense out of the Business section of any newspaper, I can usually be found in indie coffee shops studying (ah!), writing poetry and going to music shows with friends.

I also dig visual art and sports. I ran a marathon last fall and it was a lot of fun - and also pain.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is what you do with it.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Two years ago, I have used CS to meet people in Europe that were able to show me around town and I really appreciated the experience.

Before that, I've never couchsurfed using couchsurfing, but I've travelled for 3 months in France in 2005 through a network of friend's friends and such. It was a lot of fun and I know how to carry myself, ie helping with cooking and dishes.

Interests

Mathematics (mainly geometry, topology and categories for now, but I also can appreciate a good combinatorics proof once a in while), new music (classical, folk, indie, electro), poetry, learning languages, doing stuff I never did, meeting people I never thought existed in the first place.

Also history, geography and trying to see how things work from a global point of view.

I also really LOVE sailing and most outdoors activities!

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: I really love every Guy Maddin movie ( The Saddest Music in the World, Winnipeg). My last favorite movie is "The woman in the dune", from Hiroshi Teshigahara.

Music: I'm deeply curious about music, but I go through phases. Right now, I've been listening to anything by Destroyer, a lot of Sufjan Stevens, Vashti Bunyan. My favorite band since last august is of Montreal. I'm also stoked on post-rock like Godspeed you black emperor and I love to go out dancing on electronic music (right now, mainly Justice and Goudron are my sweethearts).

Books: I used to read a lot through high school, but I don't really read now, except math books. Although I got introduced to Emily Dickinson and T.S. Eliot, I dig both. My favorite book as a teen was "Soigne ta Chute" by Flora Balzano.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Turkey, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, France, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Edith's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile