Brian McAvoy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt
  • B.S. Mechanical Engineering
  • From Neenah, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

What to say? Adventurous family man (father of 3 teenagers) who enjoys a variety of outdoor and athletic pursuits, including running (3 marathons and 2 Ragnar relays), biking (multiple century rides), rollerblading, sailing, windsurfing, snowboarding, etc. Any excuse to be outside or on the water is a good one in my book.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am admittedly new to couchsurfing and I love the idea as a way to make regional, domestic and international travel within reach and a unique opportunity to make connections with locals in the process. Many years ago I stayed with two Russian families while traveling in Moscow and St. Petersburg. It was a fun and eye-opening experience and very much in the spirit of couchsurfing.

Interests

I am interested in traveling more in the coming years and would like to combine that desire with my outdoor and athletic interests whenever possible. I was fortunate to do some international travel when I was younger and want to get back to seeing more of the world.

  • books
  • running
  • tv
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • windsurfing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
  • table tennis

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - I have varied tastes with a leaning towards 80s and 90s alternative with bands such as REM, The Cure, Trashcan Sinatras, New Order, Jesus & Mary Chain, Sugar and many others. I also have a soft spot for 80s pop rock such as Cheap Trick, Journey and Def Leppard.
Movies - I prefer classic comedies like Fletch, Ace Ventura and Horrible Bosses to name a few. Monsters Inc and The Incredibles always bring a smile.
Books - I lean towards business books like Rich Dad, Poor Dad. I read a lot for work, so audiobooks on a wide variety of subjects are my preference.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hmm. I suppose it is cliche to say that raising my 3 kids has been amazing, so I'll look for something else...

In 2015, I completed a solo cycling tour of Australia from Brisbane through Sydney and Melbourne to Adelaide and beyond. It was my first tour and an awesome experience covering over 4,500 km in the process while staying with over 40 Australian families along the way.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have 2 private rooms with 3 twin beds and 2 large leather couches.
I have a fully stocked kitchen along with a gas grill that are ready and waiting for some creative energy.
Big screen TV, decent DVD collection and Wi-Fi (but no cable, sorry.)
Limited storage (bikes, gear) available in my basement along with table tennis, foosball table and dart board.
Washer and dryer.
If my schedule permits, I am happy to show folks around to any parts of the Fox River Valley in which there is an interest.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, England, France, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Russian Federation

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!