Logo orange

Maria Naimark

NY, USA

Not Accepting Guests

76% response rate · Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 38 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning French, Hebrew (modern), Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • study: in University, on the streets...
  • BA, in law school currently
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to learn

ABOUT ME

I just moved to Cambridge for school! Prior to that, I was in Toronto, Jerusalem, and Montreal.

[[[**DISCLAIMER** PLEASE do not contact me if you are using CS as a dating site, it is not one. Sorry, but past experiences have forced me to put it out there. ]]]

ANYHOW :D...

Although it is hard to fit myself into this little box, I will try. So I was born in Russia, grew up in Toronto, studied in Montreal for 4 years, moved to Israel for 6 months for a research job, returned to my hometown and fell in love with Toronto again, and am now living in the US for the first time.

I have traveled extensively around Latin America and Europe, and have also been to Indonesia, Singapore, Tunisia, and spent many months in Israel.

I enjoy learning new things, especially meeting people and sharing in their cultures. I'd like to think of myself as fairly atypical and I'm very open-minded. I also love karaoke, gin and tonic, Disney, and extreme sports.

PHILOSOPHY

hakuna matata

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I just moved and am settling in, so perhaps I can host depending on my workload at school. I hosted a lot at my place in Montreal and loved it!

On the flip side, I also vouch to be a courteous, cleanly, helpful, and fun couchsurfing guest. I make really good vegetarian food.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

...half my friends in Israel were from couchsurfing and my experience would have been nowhere near as awesome without them.

I've hosted and surfed with some amazing people and can truly say that couchsurfing has enriched my life.

Interests

Reading, writing, and music are my foremost passions. I also enjoy academia, particularly political science, sociology, history, anthropology, and (though my knowledge is more superficial) physics and cosmology. Other than that I love cooking, running, tennis, good jokes, hot baths, beaches, starry nights, and absurd humour.

Music, Movies & Books

truly, too many books to list.. off the top of my head, Brave New World, Master and Margarita, Foundation Pit, An American Tragedy, Brothers Karamazov, Fathers and Sons, Anna Karenina, Ulysses, Player Piano, Breakfast of Champions, Ishmael. My movie knowledge is a bit lacking so please do fill me in!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I was volunteering in Peru a few years ago, building houses in an area that had experienced earthquakes. A local jail had partially collapsed during one of them and the prisoners escaped, I had the chance to wander around the abandoned jail, look at the dirty drawings on the walls, read prisoners letters and generally look around. Also checked out some abandoned huts in a village in Belarus and took some old postcards and letters as keepsakes.

Apparently I like abandoned buildings.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you about how vegetarian cooking is actually delicious! and maybe even convince you.

I'm also into some pretty specific research topics, so if you want to hear about the construction or fall of the USSR or the roots of various ideologies, let me know.

And Canadian slang, for what it's worth.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Belarus, Belize, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Israel, Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile